Happy (belated) Mother’s Day!

I know that I’m about the last person on the planet to put it out in the universe, but still.  Happy (belated) Mother’s Day to all of the moms of children both here and in heaven.  Here is a run-down of the things we did this weekend:  

On Saturday morning, Greg and I took the kids to Hy-Vee to pick up a few groceries and while we were there we thought it would be a good idea to eat breakfast since we were hungry and you know what they say about grocery shopping on an empty stomach.  It is very important that I interject here and state the fact that my son loves sausage.  He loves it so much that he ate 5 sausage links at breakfast on Saturday morning.  And not the tiny kind.  The kind that come from Germany and are served by a woman named Helga.  

Just in case you were confused about the size of the sausages.

Approximately 20 minutes later, he threw up all 5 of the sausages.  In the middle of the baby aisle.  Thank goodness we were close to the baby wipes because we used an entire package of them to clean him and the police-car cart up.  Then we had to figure out what to do with the vomit soaked baby wipes.  Our solution?  Stuff them into a sippy cup (not one that we owned.  One that was for sale in a bin at the store) and casually walk away like nothing happened.  Then Greg grew a conscience and unfortunately luckily a sales associate happened to walk by.  I pitifully told her our story and she very sweetly didn’t vomit in my face (I think she knew that I had dealt with enough vomit that day) and said we could just throw the cup away without paying for it.  Bless her sweet little heart.  And we continued our shopping trip.  

In the parking lot of Hy-Vee, we found a wallet.  After some very sneaky detective work, we found it’s rightful owner and called her.  We even drove to the Vet School to meet her because she couldn’t leave.  She was so happy she cried and hugged me.  Greg was afraid she was worried that we were stalking her and that’s how we knew where to find her.  I explained to him that he married a bad-ass ninja detective and that being a nurse is just what I do to fill all of the free time up in my day and he rolled his eyes at me but seriously?  Did he know to call the number for the salon that was on the receipt and ask for her number?  Nope.  He thought it would be a good idea to call the insurance agent (in a different state, mind you) on a Saturday and ask for her number.  Hmmmmm.  I think it’s pretty obvious who won that argument.  

Then we ran over to Pier 1 to exchange a wine rack to house our yummy bottles of wine that we bought on our wine trip.  Brock was an absolute gentleman and peed in the parking lot.  I’m not kidding.  I wasn’t about to take him and Sissy inside the store by myself (Greg was already inside in line or he would have helped me).  

Next, we had our family photo shoot at Sears (click this link if you want to see my sweet babies.  If you don’t want to, fine.  But you should.  They are so adorable!  http://stemmefamily.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/66-have-a-professional-family-photo-shoot/).  Then we went home and all took a nap.  

On Sunday morning, I was woken up at the wee hour of 6:30am by Brock bursting into our bedroom screeching “Mommy!  Mommy!  I made you strawburries!”  Greg had gotten up early with the kids and made me breakfast in bed that consisted of French toast, bacon, and fresh strawberries!  Sooooo good.  And I only had to share the strawberries.  And the French toast.  Aren’t kids the best?!  I also got two very sweet Mother’s Day cards one of which Brock signed (with a little help from Greg).  Greg also got me an iPod (with a TON of songs downloaded already!), so it was obviously used, but still!  I’m so behind as far as technology goes, it is just pathetic.  And, because he is such a wonderful husband, he finished hanging a bookshelf for me that I’ve been begging him to do for a couple of weeks now as well as the wine rack.  Yay!

Then we had a quick visit with my mom & dad, went home to play in our garden, and after the kids woke up from their afternoon naps, Greg’s mom came over to give me a potted flower and a chocolate chip cookie cake.

Leave a Reply

