This time I’m sticking with it. Maybe. Definitely. Or not.

A couple of weeks ago I decided that I was going to start jogging but the thing I hate most about jogging is . . . well, jogging.  I suck at it.  Seriously.  I start fairly strong but before I’ve hit the 1/2 mile mark, I’ve also hit a wall.  My face is purple (we’ve long past pink or red), I’m panting, I have a stitch in my side.  Trust me, it’s not pretty.  I would love to be a runner but I just don’t know if that is going to work out for me.  I may have to change an item on my listWhy, you ask?  Take a look at item #2.  Run a 5K.  I know beyond a shadow of a doubt I could walk it.  But the running thing . . . . eh, I really don’t know.

So, I decided to once again, to turn to Jillian MichaelsLast night, I did the workout and this morning I’m definitely feeling it.  One thing that I love about her workout is that just when I’m getting tired and feel like stopping, it changes.  She alternates between strength training, cardio, & abs and you are never on one section for very long (literally, 1 minute is the max before you switch muscle groups!).  Don’t get me wrong, my muscles were SCREAMING out in pain and I was like jello when I was finished, but I actually felt like I accomplished something.  I’m sore but not so sore that I won’t do it again tonight.  Hopefully.

What has worked for you in the past to shed some pounds?  I have a feeling I’m going to need a back-up in case Jillian pisses me off.  Again.

 And for your viewing pleasure(ish) . . .

. . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . .

           

This is going to be my motivation. 

My motivation to workout on a (mostly) daily basis. 

To get rid of the rolls (and arm fat)(and leg fat)(and double & third chins). 

To be healthy for my kids. 

To be excited about trying on clothes again. 

To actually feel sexy when my husband says that I am. 

To be comfortable in my own skin.

P.S. I am not wearing a unitard.  It is two separate items of clothing that both happen to be mostly black.  I gave up my unitard wearing days when I quit ballet lessons.

P.P.S. Please tell me that you still love me even after I posted horribly grotesque pictures of myself in material that is similar to spandex.  Please?

P.P.P.S. Just for the record, my boobs are not smaller than my belly.  But I do have to wear two sports bras to hold the ladies in their proper place and therefor, I end up with one incredibly flat boob.  That appears to be smaller than my gut 😦

5 thoughts on “This time I’m sticking with it. Maybe. Definitely. Or not.

  1. much love…love your goals (to be sexy in your own skin, and enjoy clothes)! I’m in the process of losing weight (was told by a not so nice OBGYN that I must because it’s not good on my body…or apparently my cholesterol). I feel your pain…keep up the work!! I’m doing Jazzercise, and feel like an uncoordinated boob, but before i get to worked up, we’re changing what we’re doing. Ah, the glory days of being twiggy high schoolers who didn’t even know they were twiggy!

    much strength for your journey!

  2. Well, tonight I decided as soon as it stops raining, I am going to start walking that damned circuit your dad laid out for me. Hopefully 5.7 miles will get rid of some of that fat that is trying to be my best friend and I can actually breath when I put my clothes on. If it doesn’t stop raining, I am going to start walking on a treadmill that is at his office gym. I can walk forever with my knee, no running for me. I learned that in highschool. If I hit the softball far enough, I could walk around the bases if I wanted to.
    Best of luck on this,hope Jillian is nicer to you in the coming weeks or you could try the P90X.
    Love,
    Nan and Papa

    • Good luck! Hopefully it doesn’t stop raining and then get too hot. Ugh. If Jillian doesn’t work I may have to try the P90X. But I guess I should give her more than 4 days, right?!

  3. Pingback: I think I might have found another weight-loss reward « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

