This makes me want to cry.

Yesterday, I read a story about some 6-year old girls that were all dressed up in little sexpot outfits and were dancing (which actually consisted of them shaking their asses provocatively for most of the song) to Beyoncé’s All the Single Ladies.  The worst part?  Some irresponsible adult posted the entire thing to YouTube.  I haven’t seen it and I won’t because I don’t want to support it, but what I’ve heard is that it’s pretty disturbing to see 6 year olds–SIX!!!– dancing around like they are in a rap video.

Then this morning as I was driving in to work, I heard that a local woman had pled guilty to child endangerment for having alcohol at her 14-year-old daughter’s birthday party.  Normally I’m not too judgey about underage drinking.  Mostly because I partook in certain beverages before I was 21 and I don’t want to be hypocritical.  However, according to the news report, this woman not only supplied the alcohol, the cops were called at 2 am and two of the girls (some of the girls were 13 & some were 14) were passed out and had to be taken to the hospital.  When they arrived at the hospital, one of the girls blood alcohol level was found to be significantly higher than the legal limit for a person of legal drinking age, much less one that is 7-8 years younger.  It was also reported that one of the girls told the police that the mother offered to pay $10 to the first girl who could chug a glass (they didn’t say how large or how full it was) of Vodka.  What the crap, people?!

I have no idea what these people were thinking, but it’s beginning to make me want to move the kids to a deserted island.  Until they are 40.  By then they will have been so isolated and sheltered that they won’t have any social skills and nobody will invite them to parties anyway.  It’s basically a win-win for me.

4 thoughts on “This makes me want to cry.

  1. Socialization is highly overrated! LOL. These kinds of incidents do show a tremendous lack of parenting skills. Unfortunately, this is probably not the first generation in those families to suffer from a lack of parenting.

  2. I’m with you.. It’s awful the way society is raising their children these days. What happened to the good old days of playing with Barbies and GI Joes, or having sleepovers where you tell scary stories and eat popcorn? Honestly, I’m terrified to have my child(ren) go to school. I want to home school them so that they won’t be swayed by all the other kids in their classes. Idk, maybe I’m crazy, but I wish things were like they were back in the 50’s. When kids could be kids, ride their bikes and play in the street until the street lamps came one, and collect fire flys in the back yard. I want to go back to the days BEFORE video games/computers/ and 6yos dancing like strippers for large crowds. ::Sigh::

Leave a Reply

