On-line weight loss tool

After I finished my workout last night, I updated my Facebook status to say something like, “Done with day 6!  I wonder if it will ever get easier . . . .”    The conversation that followed was an answered prayer. 

Backstory: I have been wanting to find an online weight-loss tool that was similar to Weight Watchers without the bill.  I love Weight Watchers.  I did it after Brock was born and I shed 25 lbs.  But after a while, I couldn’t justify spending the extra money anymore.  So I quit.  Then I got pregnant with Adrianna and gained it all back + a few extra.  I have been able to lose a few of those pounds on my own through dieting, but I was beginning to struggle.  I love to eat.  Love it.  I would love to eat out and indulge every meal of every day, but obviously that won’t work because I don’t have the eating disorder metabolism of a super model and I refuse to starve myself in order to loose the extra weight.

After dieting(ish) alone wasn’t working, I decided to dust-off my copy of Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred.  Lemme tell you, that bitch knows her shit.  The first day, I thought I was going to die.  I’m serious.  I couldn’t breathe, I was as red as a tomato, my lungs & muscles ached.  I was a wreck.  But I had decided that I was going to stick with it.  This time, I meant business.  About a week ago, I posted a picture of myself to have a reference for a starting point.  (Don’t click that link if you are squeamish.  I understand)  I have actually been doing her workout for a week and I feel . . .  proud of myself.  Proud that I haven’t let excuses get in the way of my goal.  Proud that I have actually completed my first goal of work out for one week, then re-evaluate. 

That’s what I’m doing now.  Re-evaluating my goal.  I made it to my one-week goal and that wasn’t nearly as scary as saying “I’m going to workout everyday for 3 months.”  Because, honestly?  That scares the crap out of me.  So I’m going to break it down into smaller chunks.  One week down.  My next timeline goal is complete the 30-Day Shred in 30 days.  If I have to skip a day (like one day this past week), I will make it up by either doing 2 workouts in one day or some other alternate form of exercise (I will be blogging about the tree that kicked my ass.  Trust me.  I should have just done the Shred and left the tree alone).

Through the above mentioned conversation, I was introduced to a wonderful online tool for weight loss and fitness in general.  It is totally free and it works kinda like Weight Watchers online.  You can track your weight loss progress, there is a forum for support, meal ideas, bitch sessions, etc.  And my favorite part?!  There is a food journal!!!  Yip yip yippee!!!!  It is exactly what I was looking for to make myself be accountable for the crap deliciousness that I shove in my mouth every day.

So besides my new goal of completing the 30-Day Shred, I have to develop my weight loss goals in order to reach my target weight.  Just like saying, “I want to work out everyday for 3 months.” scares the bajezeus outta me so does, “I want to lose 40 lbs.”  Here is my new weight loss plan broken down in nice, small easy-to-reach goals:

  • Goal #1: 13.5 lbs (Baby weight from Adrianna)
  • Goal #2: 8 lbs (Baby weight from Brock)
  • Goal #3: 12 lbs (Martial bliss weight)
  • Goal #4: 10 lbs (I’m-in-college-and-I’ll-eat-whatever-I-want weight)

So, we shall see.  But I promise to keep you posted with my progress!

P.S. If you join the website, add me as a friend!  We can support and encourage each other!  My ID is mommastemme.  I know.  I’m original.

P.P.S. I am not being paid in any way, shape, or form by MyFitnessPal.  Although, if they are reading this, I wouldn’t mind a little kick back 😉

Leave a Reply

