Weight loss Thursday: Week 2

Results.

Okay, so here’s a newsflash.  I am kinda stupid when it comes to photoshopping and editing things like this.  But, I did figure out how to take a screen shot of the screen that tells me how much weight I’ve lost in the past 2 weeks!  In case you can’t see the teeny tiny number in the picture above I will tell you.  It is 3.  That’s right.  3 pounds down.  3 pounds closer to my goal weight.  And more importantly, at this point anyway, only 10 pounds away from my first mini-goal!  I am so encouraged and excited!  And I’m pretty sure if I stopped working out I would lose even more because I am gaining some serious muscle. 

My butt has always been a problem area for me.  It’s not too big.  It is non-existant.  When I wear jeans, they hang off of my dairy-air like a dude and it is incredibly frustrating.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not asking for a fat ass but I would like a little more definition in my rump.  And guess what?!  All of these days when I come home from work and just want to sit on the couch and relax before I pick up the hethans kiddos, but I let Jillian have her sadistic way with me . . . those days are beginning to pay off!!  Greg commented the other day about how my butt looked more toned and I am definitely beginning to feel a difference.  Yay squats!!

Other than Jillian kicking my ass 5-7 days/week, I have another important ally.  I’m telling you guys–This website  is fantastic for tracking weight loss (or gain if you are one of those super annoying people who actually needs to actually gain weight rather than loosing it) and keeping a food diary.  It has helped me become more accountable for the crap that I shove in my mouth (no dirty jokes, please!  My parents read this blog!) and to keep up with my exercise routine.  I love being able to see even the teeniest bit of progress on my weight tracker tool and I can log in and see exactly how many calories, grams of fat, carbs and protein that I have left for the day.

Did I mention that the website is free?!  Holy moly.  How much better does it get than that?  It’s super easy to register, too.  They ask you a few basic start-up questions like your current weight, your height, your goal weight, etc. and there you go!  A customized weight loss plan at your finger tips!  Plus, did I mention that it is free?!  Obviously I love free stuff, don’t you?

Besides the fact that it is free, super easy to use, has tons of nifty little tools (You want an example?  Okay, how about a food database that is ENORMOUS as well as an option to enter in your own food if you can’t find what you are looking for), there is a little green button at the bottom of the food entry page that says “Complete this entry”.  After you have entered in your food and exercise for the day, click that button. 

When you click it, magic things happen. 

Consider yourself warned.

After you click that little magic green button, the website tells you, “If everyday were like today, you would weigh ____ by ___(that last blank has always been 5 weeks in the future for me).  How fantastic is that?!  I really feel like that gives you an extra bit of motivation to keep going even if you feel like you want to quit.  It also helps you look at the bigger picture. 

Green button = magic

“If everyday were like today . . .”

On good days that is a wonderful feeling.  On not-so-good days, it’s nice to know that not everyday has to be a total loss.  Take it one meal at a time, rather than one day.  If you have waffles & ice cream for breakfast, have a do-over at lunch.  Choose a lean meat and veggies but continue to eat so that your body doesn’t go into starvation mode and plant those waffles right on your ass.

What (or who) has been your biggest motivator when trying to lose weight?

4 thoughts on “Weight loss Thursday: Week 2

  1. So proud of you Tara. You are a huge inspiration to other moms. If you can do it with 2 little ones running then anybody can do it. Keep up the great job.

  2. Glad the work is paying off. About your butt, you should look at your genetics (didn’t you learn anything in nursing school). As far as keeping a record, that is good because most people don’t realize how much they snack during the day. Sometimes even eating a salad is bad, depending on what you put on it and I am so guilty of that, but I love salad!
    Love,
    Mom and Daddy. (your butless parents)

    • It’s very true that I’m fighting an uphill battle in the butt department since I got ZERO support from either side of my gene pool, but it is seriously paying off! I have a rather firm tushie! Also, my boobs are shrinking which is breaking Greg’s heart 😉

Leave a Reply

