So I kind of feel like a bit of a shit-head

I didn’t post anything on my blog yesterday in honor of Father’s Day.  But obviously it was because I was spending the day with my dad, my father-in-law and, of course my sweet husband.  You belive me, right?

Good.

Because I’m not lying.  Not at all . . .

Since Saturday was our anniversary, my parents offered to keep the kids overnight so we could have a date night.  We were in bed by 9:30.  Very first thing Sunday morning, we picked up the kids and gave my dad his Father’s Day gift.  We got him a gadget for his grill that apparently is a brush/steamer and he was excited because the last brush that my mom got him was “flimsy”.  His words.  Not mine.  I truly do not understand the bond between a man and his grill.  But that may be because I lack a necessary piece of anatomy.

Doesn't this thing look like it belongs in the next Transformers movie?

Next we were off to Greg’s parents’ house.  For Dave, we got him a photo display that says, “Grandpa” in wooden letters and it has 3 little silver spirals that you put the pictures in.  Dave made us a delicious breakfast of french toast and bacon which was soooo yummy!

We spent the rest of the day together doing a random assortment of things like:

  • went to Hy-Vee because they had Buzz Lightyear and Cowboy Woody (real-life people!) to celebrate the release of Toy Story 3 & to meet the kids.  Brock was so pumped when he saw them and pointed them out on his Toy Story shirt.
  • worked in our garden and transplanted a few pumpkins that were trying to take over our tomato plants.  They (the transplanted ones) may not survive this 90-100 degree heat over the next few days 😦
  • While the kids napped, we set up their pool and had such a blast watching them “swim” (pictures to come, for sure)
  • I started to make Greg a pie and I got as far as the crust, but the kids were being rowdy and I will attempt to finish it tonight.

See?  I was so busy doing things with the men in my life and celebrating the fact that they are dads!  Happy belated Father’s Day, men!  I love you all so much and appreciate all that you have done for me!

3 thoughts on “So I kind of feel like a bit of a shit-head

  1. Sounds like you were pretty busy 🙂 I forgive you now. Oh and while I understand that guys have an obsession with their grills….I also love this obsession because I get to eat the fruits of their labors. 😀 Happy Father’s day to Greg!!

  2. Well, Papa Jimbo loves his brush. Can’t wait for him to try it out. Guess it is too hot today for him to do it. :(.
    Love,
    Nan and Papa Jimbo

Leave a Reply

