Harvest season: Round 1. Besides the lettuce.

That’s right.  I’m blogging about my garden.  Again.  But ya know what?  It’s my blog!  And you have to listen to me!  Muahahahahahaha!  Okay, but seriously.  When we started this garden a couple of months back, we planted a bit of everything because it was the first year we had a garden and we didn’t know what we were doing and we thought, “We better plant a ton of shit so at least something will grow.”  I guess we should be counting our blessings that we were able to throw some seeds in the ground and now we have vegetables and I am so so glad that we won’t have to buy hardly any veggies this summer/fall because our garden has our back, but sweet baby Jesus.  Our pumpkin?  Outta control. 

See what I mean?!

But the pumpkins aren’t the point of this post.  They will get their own post at a later date.  I know that everybody is looking forward to that.  The point of this post is this:

Oh.  Mah.  Goodness.

We had 2 squash & 1 green pepper ready to be picked this weekend so we picked them.  Then I scoured my cookbooks to find recipes for squash that my children & husband would eat.  Then I decided that I was going to make the deliciousness that is pictured above!  It was so easy!  And delicious!  And healthy!  I cannot believe that me, hater of most things vegetable, made something composed of mostly veggies and lived to tell the tale!

Here is what I did:

Cut one chicken breast into chunks and cooked them saute style in just enough butter to keep them from burning while giving them a delicious brown color.  While the chicken was cooking, I cut up the following vegetables in nice, bite-sized chunks:

  • zucchini
  • summer squash
  • green pepper
  • onion (I actually diced it because I generally hate onion and the smaller the pieces, the easier it is to tolerate)
  • green beans
  • potato

I threw all of the veggies into the pan once the chicken was finished and sautéed them for about 5 minutes.  I added a little soy sauce, salt & pepper and voila!  Just like a good date–cheap and easy.  Wait.  What?

I ended up with so much food, I had to use two skillets to cook it all.  See?

Please ignore my messy kitchen.  My great-grandma used to always say that the best cooks were messy ones.  Of course, she used to stick her false teeth out and scare the bejesus outta us when we were little so I’m pretty sure she was drunk alot. 

The point is, I’m messy and I happen to be an alright cook so maybe Granny was right.

What did my husband and children think of it?

Praise the Lord!

Okay, so it wasn’t that good.  Brock told me, “Momma.  I can’t wike it.”  But, ya know; it had vegetables in it and the chicken wasn’t in its traditional nugget form, so what was I thinking?!  But 3/4 of my household ate it so I would consider that a success!

5 thoughts on “Harvest season: Round 1. Besides the lettuce.

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. Well, you know Brock hates any veggies because he never ate anything but baby food forever!! Adrianna will eat anything that doesn’t try to eat her first (the bug on the patio that I took away from her is proof!) and Greg is easy to cook for. Glad you are enjoying the bounty of the land without purchasing something from the store that has God only knows what on it.
    Maybe tell Brock, he has to eat it before he gets anymore blackberries! I am sure I will be picking furiously by the weekend.
    Love,
    Nan and Papa

    • Tis true. The first child is quite possibly cursed forever and may never eat veggies but the second child will eat ANYTHING that doesn’t eat her first! I am planning on coming over this weekend to help you (can’t believe I’m about to say this) pick blackberries. Whaaaaaaaa! Whaaaaaaa! I don’t wanna!

  3. I came over from McFatty Monday because I totally read your comment and was like “Did I already comment this morning?” I second everything.

    So glad I came over, because I LOVE your blog. The story about the cherry limeade and your descriptions of your kids are hilarious!

    Congrats on the weight loss so far, and good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

