Birthday recap

I kinda feel like the luckiest girl in the world right now, because I am constantly surrounded by amazing & wonderful people.  Yesterday was my birthday and I had been warning everybody at work that if I was going to be stuck celebrating with them, I fully intended on being a brat the entire day.  At least I warned them. 

I got a re-gifted bottle of wine from one of the doctors which is perfect because I love re-gifting things.  It’s like recycling only with crap that people can’t take back because you don’t even know where it came from and they can’t throw it away because, ya know, it’s a gift.  So it sits on a shelf or in a cabinet somewhere for 5 years until one of two things happen.  1) it gets re-re-gifted or 2) it gets sold at a garage sale which, inevitably, my husband will purchase.  Some day, when I have the extra energy required, I will go into the painstaking detail that it takes to describe my husband and garage sales.

I also got the second, in what I like to imagine is a series of limericks created just for me by one of the other doctors that I work with.  (Click here to read the first one.)

Tara is one classy nurse

She inspires praise from verse

Her skills are robust

Discuss them we must

But alas, I’m known to be terse

I didn’t have the heart to tell him that I like the one about chest hair slightly more.

We also had snacks all day, so it’s a good thing I weighed-in before I left for work because when I stepped on the scales this morning, it . . . well let’s just say I cried a little, tiny tear.  Dr. Limerick also sprung for lunch so we ate yummy BBQ and one of the radiology techs make a homemade.triple.layer.German.chocolate.cake.  ::swoon::  And you know that I ate a huge piece.  But it’s okay!  I instituted a calories-don’t-count-on-your-birthday rule!  Except they totally do and the wii-fit yelled at me this morning and I’m pretty sure she called me fat.  Or, at least said, “Oh!” when I stepped on the balance board.  Way to be subtle, wii.  The Japanese can be real assholes sometimes.

After I ate like a kid at fat-camp does when they come home for a weekend, Greg and I went out to dinner!  Sheesh.  No wonder the wii yelled at me.  I totally deserved it.  We went to dinner at a restaurant downtown called, The Rome.  If you are local, you should go there.  I’m not kidding.  It’s a cute little Italian restaurant that actually started somewhere in the Northeast (Maryland, maybe?) by an Italian immigrant couple.  They passed down their recipes to their kids and a few of them settled in CoMo and set up shop here.  Luckily, they happen to be amazing cooks as well and we get to reap all of the benefits!  I highly recommend the Chicken Romano.  Soooo yummy and they give you more than enough for dinner + lunch the next day.  Unless you just want to die of happiness right there in the restaurant and eat it all at once.  I’m not here to judge.

After dinner, Greg suggested that we go to a movie since the kids stayed with Mom & Dad.  He was so gracious about it, too.  I hadn’t seen Eclipse yet and I have read all of the books so I have been wanting to see it but I’m not, by any stretch of the imagination, a Twi-hard (bleh.  Who the eff comes up with these names, anyway?!).  But when we were looking at show times, he piped right up and offered to watch it with me.  So we did.  And, big time props to Greg because he sat during the entire thing, lost as an Easter egg, and didn’t complain once.  Greg didn’t see the first two, nor has he read any of the books but he actually sat still and paid attention during the whole movie.  I was shocked!  And, even though I know the ending, and even though Jacob was a little whiney during this one, I’m still Team Jacob.

Exhibit A:

Exhibit B:

Yeow!

Not too bad for a man-boy that is barely out of puberty.  ::Mmmmmmmm:: 

Wait!  What happened?!  I drifted off into a fantasy for a minute.  I’m not sure what it says about me that I’m lusting after a barely-legal man boy person.  But, I guess that can be my next starting point at therapy.

Okay, back to reality.

This morning when I got to work, one of my quasi-bosses (I have lots.  I work for the government, remember?) had bought me a bottle of wine!  Woo-hoo!  And it’s one of my favorites so yippee!  I know what I’m doing tonight!  Drinking a glass of wine and then kicking Greg’s ass on wii-fit hula hoop!  Hell yeah.

But that will be after dinner with my parents.

I would say that I’m going to be good and not eat anything during the day today because I know that we are going out tonight, but . . . I already ate a left-over cinnamon roll from yesterday and I brought my Chicken Romano from dinner last night for lunch today.

::hangs head in shame::

The wii may never forgive me.

One thought on “Birthday recap

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on turning the big 2-8 « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

