I’ve been grounded

Yes, I am sad to announce that I was grounded last night.  And not in the way that I’ve been dreaming about since I had kids.  You know, where I have to stay in my room and I am forced to read and whatnot.

My fate is much worse than that.

My husband grounded me from my brand new wii.

As embarrassed as I am to admit that, I’m even more embarrassed to tell you why.

(I seriously have butterflies in my stomach because I am so nervous.  And ashamed.)

When I was younger (close to 9 or 10), my aunt & uncle gave us (the entire family) a Nintendo for Christmas.  That was back when they were first coming out and I was soooooo excited!  It even had Mario Bros./Duck Hunt with it!  Yay!

Is it too late to mention that I’m a wee bit competitive?

::deep breath::

I seriously cannot believe that I’m about to admit this on the internet.  But here goes.

When we first got our Nintendo, I was so pumped.  I couldn’t wait to start playing.  All of my friends were talking about how awesome they were and now I had one!  Me!  We brought it home from Grandma & Grandpa’s house and dad set it up for us.  We played Mario Bros. and had so much fun!  I was pretty good.  It helped to actually swing the controller so you could be sure you would make it over the brick-abyss (you know you did the same thing).  We were all having so much fun.  Until?  Until we tried to play Duck Hunt.

I was fine until I missed a duck. 

And then?

And then that STUPID DOG would come up outta the weeds and laugh at me!  ZOMG!  I was mad.  I could feel my face flushing and I was getting more frustrated with each miss.  Finally, I totally lost it. 

I got so mad at the damn dog that I actually threw the gun at the TV.

::hangs head in shame::

Go ahead.  I deserve to be mocked.

And theeeeeeeen?

My mom took away our Nintendo.  And I don’t mean for a week.  I mean for eternity.

I literally never saw the thing again.

Last night, Greg and I were playing the obstacle course game on wii-fit.  He kept throwing out some pretty not-so-helpful advice like, “You look like you’re competing in the ski jump.  Do you have to extend your arms like that?”  Why yes, actually–I do.  Finally, I had had enough.  I was exhausted, drenched in sweat & pissed that I couldn’t beat his high score. 

So I threw the remote.

Oh relax!  It was against the couch, not the wall. 

Or the TV. 

Or at his head.

As he shook his head in disbelief, he said, “You are never allowed to teach our children any sports.  EVER.” 

Then he grounded me from the wii.  But just for the rest of the night. 

It’s probably a good thing.

Otherwise, I might have made the news last night . . .

4 thoughts on “I’ve been grounded

  1. Actually the Nintendo is in the attic. Guess I should get it back out. I think the reason it went up was because you threw the gun, your dad gave the dog an obscence gesture and your very much too young sister did the same thing your dad did. That was it!
    Want me to get it back out so you can play when Greg grounds you again?? Might be something to teach Brock!
    Love,
    Nan and Papa Jimbo

  2. will Tara I was wenting to get a wii but I may do the same thing you know Grandpa would not pay with me or if he did he would beat me bad

  3. Pingback: Weight-loss Thursday « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

