Proud

Yesterday afternoon, we found out that Greg had been accepted into a local college!  After being out of school for the past nine years, he has decided to go back and finish his education.  I could not be more proud of my husband. 

Right now, we are in the throes of coordinating all of the necessary forms, meetings with his advisor, enrollment, exemptions for housing, etc.  It is all so nerve-wracking but so exciting at the same time.  As of right now, his plans are to take one class at a time in order to ease back into things as well as allow him the time he will need to complete several work-related commitments that are already in place.

I know that it makes me sound like a huge dork, but I am excited for myself as well.  I love being in school ::points to self–nerd!:: but I cannot help myself.  I love deadlines, writing papers, completing projects and the feelings of accomplishment that go along with everything that is “school”.  I will be living vicariously through him and am anxious to “help” him with his homework and will be biting my nails while waiting for each grade to come back.

I know the sacrifices that we are going to have to make but it will be worth it.  At the end of all of this, when my husband graduates from college, I will be there; clapping the loudest.

11 thoughts on “Proud

    • Yeah, he is still a little bit in the stunned-phase but I know he will be great. I can’t wait for him to finally be able to do something that he is passionate about! It will be awesome.

  1. I too am a school nerd, but no one would have ever believed it haha. It mainly happens when it comes to facts about ocean life. I have to watch every documentary or sometimes I reference back to my college books (marine biology major). Lol then proceed to show Josh because he is SOOO interested (he’s a good sport). I’m a nerd too Tara!!

    I’m so glad Greg is going back to school though! I don’t think I saw it, but what is he going back for??

    • I am like that with medical stuff. I’m always digging out my nursing textbooks to read up on something or to show Greg a picture of a childhood illness that he is convinced one of the kids has (the pictures always prove me right) and he goes through the motions but always has a glassy-eyed look. Hmmmmm . . .

      I forgot to include that part! He is going to finish his education in elementary education with an emphasis in Math. So he will be teaching middle-school aged kids math (theoretically) when he is done. He also wants to coach at some point 😀

  2. Yea, now we are classmates, but I hope to get my degree before he does. Well, that is the plan right now! Can’t wait for him to get started, guess he will start with the August session right? On-line or evening? He can help me finish my degree since math is the only thing really holding me up.
    Love,
    Nan

    • He is supposed to be starting in August. He has a meeting with his advisor next week to determine if he has to go through freshman/transfer student orientation stuff. He was actually accepted into the day campus program but we will have to see about grants that cover cost-of-living expenses. If that doesn’t work out, it will be evening classes. I think. 😉

  3. Pingback: Back to school « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

