Rockin’ Green detergent & Gro Via diapers: Part 2

Welcome to the second installment of my praise of Rockin’ Green detergent!  Click here to read part 1. 

One of the bloggers that I follow, Alena, hosted a giveaway for Rockin’ Green detergent.  Rockin’ Green was started by a woman who had a story eerily similar to mine.  She found that the hard water in her house was causing a buildup of minerals on her cloth diapers and that was causing her to have smell-issues.  So she started making her own detergent.  Then she started selling it.  And she gave the fragrances kicky names (that are all rock-themed) like “Rage Against the Raspberry” and “Bare Naked Babies”.  So, of course I entered Alena’s contest and of course I didn’t win.  But I ached to have functional cloth diapers that didn’t knock you over with the smell.  I wanted to try that detergent.  So, I went back to the website and begged and pleaded for some samples to try.  Much to my surprise, they e-mailed me right back and said that my samples were in the mail!  Just like that.  I was pumped.  I couldn’t wait to get my detergent samples in the mail so I could attempt to fix our problem. 

The day that I received my Rockin’ Green detergent in the mail was a very good day. 

That's right. I took a picture of my detergent samples. Mock me all you want.

I couldn’t wait to try it out!  I went straight into the drawer of the changing table where the diapers had been sitting for a couple of months and began to un-snap the liners from the shells.  As per the instructions on the detergent package, I filled my washing machine with hot water, added the liners and shells, and a package of detergent. 

 

Then I waited.  The package said to wait at least 30-60 minutes.  But it also said that if the diapers had a persistent stink that could make a skunk sit up and take notice, you should soak them all night. 

Of course, I’m paraphrasing here. 

Right now, I’m too lazy to get up off my couch and check what the package says. 

So I let them soak in the water/detergent overnight.  First thing in the morning, I went in the laundry room and turned on the spin cycle.  Then I washed them without any extra detergent.  Just following the instructions, people!  Next it was off to the dryer. 

More waiting. . . . 

 . . .  I’m bored . . . 

Buzz!  Dryer’s done! 

Hooray!  Warm, yummy-smelling cloth diapers! 

But the real question is, did it actually work? 

It did! 

I am thrilled! 

I got the “Rage Against the Raspberry” scent and I was a little worried that it might irritate the oh-so-sensitive skin of our little princess but it did not.  In fact, unless you knew that it was supposed to smell like Raspberry, you wouldn’t be able to tell at all.  It’s not at all like the god-awful Sun-Ripened Raspberry from Bath and Body Works.  Bleh. 

So, while we are not back to full-time diapering just yet (our stash isn’t big enough to keep it up full-time especially when Adrianna is teething and, therefore, pooping every 30 minutes) I am so so so happy to say that our little lady is back to having a fluffy butt again! 

And because I’m happy about it and because I’ve been promising a certain someone (ahem, Sara) that I would post this follow-up for over a week now, I’m going to give away 2 sample packs of Rockin’ Green detergent! 

I want to keep this giveaway simple so there are just a few rules. 

1) Go to the Rockin’ Green site and tell me something.  Anything.  Something that you learned, the scent with the best name, anything.  This is the only mandatory entry.  Then, come back, leave a comment and be sure to leave your e-mail so I can contact you if you win! 

2) Be my facebook friend (be sure you leave a comment with your e-mail address!) 

3) Tweet about this giveaway.  Just be sure to include the link to this post so those that follow you on twitter can come back and sign up also!  (If you want to follow me on twitter, that’s cool too!  I’m @mommastemme if you wanna find me.)  You can tweet everyday for more entries, just leave a new comment each day that you do! 

The deadline for entries will be Sunday, September 19th at midnight & I will use random.org to chose the winner!

Okay, go! 

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed here are 100% my own.  Other than the samples I was provided, I was not compensated in any way & they were not given to me in exchange for a product review.  I am purchasing the giveaway samples with my own hard-earned cash.  That’s how much I love you guys!

26 thoughts on “Rockin’ Green detergent & Gro Via diapers: Part 2

  1. Well, I don’t want to be in the contest but I am glad you finished your post and soooo happy that something works and you can go back to your lovely diapers (don’t forget to purchase some for Betty since she is so gracious and does those diapers for you) and it doesn’t irritate our baby’s bottom (notice I didn’t say butt here!, you can tell Brock I was a good girl). So nice that something works and you don’t have to rely on a diaper service (where would you find one here anyway?). And Greg doesn’t have to complain about the stench anymore.
    Love,
    Nan and Papa

    • Don’t be a party pooper! You should enter anyway!

      I am so glad that it has worked out for us and, even though I’m the one that is primarily cleaning the diapers rather than Greg, it is really nice to not have them stinking up the whole house!

  2. Two things.

    Its vegan detergent. That made me laugh. Though I know its serious business.

    Second, Orangavana sounds like a creamsicle. Yum.

    And I made pear bread today (well, tried… it kinda sucked) and it made me think of you.

    Does sucking up improve my odds??

    • Sadly, no. Sucking up doesn’t improve your odds. But, it does make me love you a little more 😀
      Don’t forget–you get another entry if we are facebook friends! Just be sure to add another comment to “tell” me so it will count. So far . . . you are going to win! But only because you are the only person that has ACTUALLY entered.

      And, I’m not sure if the bread itself or the fact that it sucked made you think of me 😉 Honestly? Either way I’m flattered!

  3. I thought it was just used for cloth diapering! I didn’t realize you could use Rockin Green for all laundry and as a cleaner too!! Awesome stuff!!

  4. I’ve ordered samples of RnG a few times so I didn’t think I’d learned anything new! I was wrong. She now offers a diaper sprayer! I did not know that. I really, really ought to get one!

  5. I LOVE Rockin’ Green!! They have these new little magnetic scoops that are great! Honestly they’re not strong enough to stick to the side of the washer, but they make measuring out the detergent MUCH easier!

  6. Pingback: Have I ever told you how much I love Rockin Green detergent? « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

