Weight loss Thursday

Last week I didn’t post my week’s weight-loss for a couple of reasons. 

1. I’ve been busy.  I’m not trying to make any excuses for myself because the entire point of me posting every week was to keep myself accountable & on track.  But, since Greg won’t let me quit my job to blog full-time, I am forced to do at least a little work during the 40 hours that I’m required to be there. 

2. I didn’t actually lose any weight.  In fact, I gained a few pounds.  And frankly?  It sucks.  

But an important lesson that I’m learning is that honesty (even when it’s ugly) is way better than sticking your head in the sand and hoping that things will work out.  I knew that I was probably setting myself up for failure when I boldly stated that I was going to lose 5 pounds in 2 weeks.  And when I failed, I seriously thought about quitting.  It was justifiable.  I’ve lost almost 20 pounds!  I can tell a huge difference in my clothes (I packed away 7 pair of jeans two weeks ago!) and everybody else is beginning to notice.  But I know myself.  I know that if I quit now, I may never reach my ultimate goal weight.  I’ve hit a minor bump in the road and I will just have to rededicate myself.  Because of the impending 5K, I’ve been to the gym more in the last 2 weeks than I have in the past 3 years, so that’s definitely a start.  I’m being more diligent about portions (especially at dinner when I want to eat an entire bag of potato chips rather than the veggies I force the kids to eat).  I’m slowing down on the “fun” cooking (brownies, cakes, sweet breads, etc.) until I see a little more progress on the scale.  I’m making more conscious efforts to make healthier selections when we go out to dinner. 

While I am sad to report that I have no weight loss this week, I am trying to keep in mind that there are a few positive things about that.  I am working out again so maybe I’m losing fat and gaining muscle.  Maybe.  I’m still down a total of 16 pounds over the course of 4 months.  I would love to have reached my goal this week, but I’m not going to be too hard on myself.  I am trying really hard to strike a balance between enjoying food & over-indulging and sometimes I cross that line.  Sometimes I do it knowingly and think, “Oh, I’m going to hate myself when I step on the scale Thursday morning.”  I think the biggest thing is to be patient with myself and know that, eventually, the hard work will pay off. 

It’s hard, please don’t misunderstand.  I love to eat.  And cook.  And share my cooking with my friends and family.  But I know that if I want to continue to see results, I have to stick to my plan.  I’ve given myself enough of a break and now it’s time to attack this jiggle with every weapon I’ve got.  Starting with a motivational picture. 

As in, a real picture of me not just what Google images produces when I type in “fat lady”. 

::sigh:: 

Okay, here goes.  

Before: 

12 weeks ago

 

 Now: 

Last night

Obviously there is a HUGE difference in my tummy & arms.  And my butt.  And my back fat.  But, obviously I still have quite a bit more work to do.  And, okay.  Looking at the pictures, I can tell a difference.  I’m starting to feel more comfortable in my clothes & it makes me feel really good when people comment.  I guess my point is that these last two weeks were a set-back.  Now’s the time to man-up and get back on the weight-loss train.  Because you guys?  I really really want an “after” that is ah-mazing.

10 thoughts on “Weight loss Thursday

  1. Your doing awesome, i give you kuddos for trying to loose weight. When the cold weather hits that is when i turn into a bear and just want to eat and sleep lol…

    • Oh, trust me . . . that’s all I want to do too! But, I was also a little embarassed to be hanging onto “baby weight” over a year later 😦

      Next goal: Get rid of the weight I gained from my pregnancy with Brock 😀

  2. Keep focusing on the positive. Use those non-scale victories- clothes fitting better, improving 5k time, making good choices when going out, etc- to motivate you when you aren’t seeing the results you want on the scale. There is always *something* you are doing right, so find that and build on it when you feel like you are struggling.

    <— Weight Watchers leader

    Just not doing any mtgs since I am fat LOL

  3. Even though I can’t BELIEVE you said the “S” word (oh, my virgin ears!), I think you look FAB; especially in the photo on the “S” word entry where you went out w/ hubby and friend and painted the town red.

    Keep up the good work, Tara! You’re an inspiration!

    P.S. As a Mom and Pastor’s wife, I’m obligated to tell you to watch your language. But beyond that, you look HOT!

    Keep up the good work, Tara! You’re an inspiration!

  4. Tara…. I think you are amazing. I had been wonderng how you were doing so well with all that baking. If I do that I’m home all day with the kids and I eat it. Ugh!! Hang in there….way to be honest and accountable. BTW…. I also think you look great and loved the past pic of you and Greg!! Too cute! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I typically give away a lot of my baked goods (which drives Greg up a wall) but it’s like the old addage, “Those who can’t do, teach.” but for me it’s like, “Those who can’t eat, cook!” Haha!

Leave a Reply

