Toddler Talk Thursday: Art

Welcome to the eighth week of Toddler Talk Thursday! Where Family and Life in Las Vegas, Crazy about my Baybah, and My Life as a Sippy Cup Mom talk all things Toddler! Thank you for your patience with last weeks “break”. As all of you know, sometimes life gets a little busy.

 Toddler Talk Thursday was created as a place for moms and dads of toddlers to come together over a weekly topic and share ideas, go-to toys, or products. It is a great way to meet other bloggers of toddlers. Each week the topic will be different; we invite you to link up, share your weekly Toddler Talk!!

I guess that I’m clinging to the fact that my first-born might still be a “toddler” when, in reality, I know that he is a full-blown “kid”.  But, I still like to include him in these posts!  And, I’m not sure that I’m brave enough to let Adrianna paint and she eats crayons so she doesn’t get to participate this week!

At Christmas, Greg’s parents gave Brock an art easel.  One side is a chalkboard and the other is just plain white but it has a clip at the top so you can put paper on their.  The best part?  There are little trays (that were not on it in this picture) that hold crayons, chalk, markers, etc so all of their supplies are readily available.  Brock has the best time with that easel!  Before, when we would put coloring books on the floor, he would get bored after just a few minutes.  But once we put this in the toy room, he will sit on his little chair and color for 30 minutes at a time!  Of course, he still wants somebody to be right there to cheer him on and tell him how beautiful his artwork is 🙂

One dilemma that I had with all of Brock’s original creations, is that I’m rapidly running out of refrigerator space to display them.  What we decided to do is use the kids’ artwork as . . . well, art!  We let Brock (& Adrianna when she gets a little older) chose their favorite “pieces”, frame them and hang them on the walls of their toy room!  Brock was so pumped when he walked into the toy room and saw his drawing hanging up on the wall!  He has a real sense of pride about his drawings and loves to show them off to everybody that will look at them.

This one is another favorite.  At Wednesday night church group, the kids have activity time.  The first week that Brock went, they got to cut out little squares of construction paper and glue them down on a larger piece.  He was so proud of his artwork–and so was his momma!  I’m looking for the perfect frame for this one because it will soon be hanging up in his “gallery”.

16 thoughts on “Toddler Talk Thursday: Art

  1. You can also use some of their artwork as background pages in their scrapbooks! Aunt Val does that and then you won’t have to purchase pretty papers for their background! He is such a cutie pie (as well as his sister). Oh yeah, forgot to tell you she eats chalk every chance she gets here! Doesn’t like the taste but loves to eat it. Don’t understand…
    Love,
    Nan and Papa

  2. I take all of Emily’s drawings and other “creations” and scan them into my computer- that way none of them get lost, and I can share with the people who wouldn’t get to see all of them. An added benefit is that it doesn’t take up alot of space, since unfortunately we can’t keep everything. Emily loves to see her drawings displayed on the computer as it cycles through as a screensaver. Or you could do the same thing in a digital picture frame.

  3. :hide:

    I file most artwork in the trashcan

    <–bad mommy

    Really though, she comes home from preschool 2x a week with like 10 sheets each. My house is not big enough LOL

    • Ha! Too funny! I definitely had to start getting creative because of all of the crap that he brings home from daycare! Some of it I love, some of it is just his papers but Greg swears that one day Brock will want to look through all of that stuff.

      We compromised.

      Some of the artwork (our faves) gets put on display which I think adds a nice personal touch to the toy room. The rest (mostly “school” papers) gets put into big tupperwear containers, labeled, and put in storage.

  4. I recently saw a great idea for preserving art work I intend to employ. You scan the images into the computer and shrink them down a bit. Then, you can have a poster made up of multiple images of art. One frame, one big poster filled with art work.
    I plan on saving the very best stuff in a box and the rest will be quietly shuffled into a plastic bag. =)

  5. That is awesome that he loves to work on his easel, and I love how you decorate with his artwork. I still even have some of my artwork that my parents saved from when I was little. It is pretty special that I still have some.
    Thanks for linking up with us!

Leave a Reply

