Weight-loss Thursday

I have good things to report this week!  Although I’m not quite to my next mini-goal yet, I feel like I’m back on track.  I lost 2.9 pounds this week which puts me back at a grand total of  -15.9.  Ever since the 5K, I’ve been feeling much more motivated to not only continue to exercise, but also to be smarter about my food choices. 

I’m so good at justifying what I eat and almost always regretting it later.  In the two weeks before the 5K, when I was hitting the treadmill more ever, I would not only eat worse throughout the day, I would eat more as well.  I stopped keeping my food journal because I felt that my food choices didn’t matter because, hello??  I was going to the gym!  I was wrong. 

“I’m going to the gym after work so I can eat an entire over-sized helping of cheese fries.”

or

“I just had a great workout so I deserve a vanilla cone from McDonald’s.”

Repeat after me: Not good choices, Tara.

So after my super-scary weigh-in last week, I re-dedicated myself to keeping this weight off.  I’m going to continue going to the gym at least 2-3 nights/week.  I’m drinking a Carnation Instant Breakfast in the morning so I’m not dying of hunger by 9:30.  I’m still eating my salad for lunch.  I’m drinking TONS of water when I’m at my desk so my tummy feels full.  I’m attempting to keep up with menu planning so there isn’t the oh so convenient there’s-nothing-set-out-and-I-don’t-feel-like-cooking-so-I’m-eating-fast-food excuse.  I’m going to try to not use working out as justification for over indulgence at mealtime. 

If I want to see the scale move in a positive direction, I have to make sacrifices.

Sometimes those sacrifices are the extra helping of garlic mashed potatoes.

Some days I want to murder people who can eat anything that they want and still be skinny.

Don’t worry; I won’t actually murder them.

But I can’t promise that I won’t stab them in a fit of mashed potato withdrawl-induced rage.

Hello.  My name is Tara and I’m a carboholic.  It’s been 2 days since my last carb.

Actually, that’s a lie.  It’s been about 10 minutes.

I am hopeless.

8 thoughts on “Weight-loss Thursday

  1. lol my family is full of carboholics too!! I, as you well know, am addicted to candy!! The past couple days of working out have made me feel like making better choices though. Keep up the good work! You look great 😀 Be sure to have Greg hide all the sharp objects in your home haha

    • I will be sure to tell Greg to hide all things that could be considered weapons 😀

      I’m glad that you feel like you have been making better choices. Once you get into a routine, it gets a little easier!

  2. Great job on the loss! I totally know how you feel on the carbs…my life without pasta and potatoes would be empty and meaningless (well, not quite, but it would feel that way!) 😉

    Good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

