This is just bizarre

Thursday night after work, I went over to my best friend’s house to help her go through her clothes because she has lost weight and, um, hello?!  Do we really need a reason to get together?

No.

We do not.

When I was on my way home, Greg called me and mentioned that his belly was hurting and my nurse brain starting going into overdrive.

When he said it was his right lower quadrant, I immediately braced myself for a night in the emergency room.  They symptoms he was describing to me were eerily similar to mine when I had appendicitis.

As soon as I got home, we talked for a few minutes before I convinced him that the pain was not going to go away on its own.  I called his mom to see if she would stay with the kids while we were gone.  She was at our house in less than 15 minutes and we were out the door.  Other than almost being in an accident on the way to the ER, the trip was uneventful.

We got checked in the ER, spoke with the triage nurse and she said that she would put a “rush” on his chart since it sounded like appendicitis to her.

I was thrilled. 

Not because my husband potentially had appendicitis, but because if he did, we could get it taken care of sooner rather than later and not have to sit in the ER all frackin’ night with handfuls of drunks.

We only had to wait about 45 minutes in the waiting room before we were called back which was an absolute miracle.

And, that was the last bit of good news we would get all night.

I’m not sure if waiting in the waiting room where you have entertainment from the other patients or waiting in the exam room forced to watch horrible TV because it is the middle of the night and nothing is on besides infomercials, is worse.

Drunks or bad TV?

Drunks or bad TV?

Honestly, I still don’t know the answer to that one.

The nurse took blood and urine samples.  The nurse started an IV.  The doctor came in, examined Greg and said, “Oh yes.  It definitely sounds like appendicitis but we will get a CT scan just to be sure.”

I was gloating so much you could palpate it.

Again, not because I wanted my husband to have appendicitis.  I’m not that big of a jerk.

I was just thrilled that I was right.  I was afraid that since leaving the ICU, I had lost my touch.  The doctor’s early diagnosis affirmed that I had not.

I am such a jerk.

The nurse brought in the contrast for Greg to drink for his CT and he did as he was told.

By this time, it was around 2 in the morning.  The nurse finally came back and said they were ready for him to get his CT.  Luckily, an abdominal CT doesn’t take very long and he was back in less than 20 minutes.

What did we do next?  Oh, that’s right.  We waited.  We waited for the doctor to come back in the room and tell us, “Well, I’m very confused.  The CT came back normal.  Appy, intestines, everything.  I will send you home with a script for some pain meds but for now, just go home and try to rest.  If the pain gets worse, you start vomiting or develop diarrhea then come back.  Otherwise, you should call your primary doctor on Monday and be seen there.”

Um, what?

Greg had rebound tenderness.

Rebound tenderness. The classic symptom of appendicitis.

He had pain in his right lower quadrant.  The quadrant in which the appendix is located.

I was totally speechless.

Shocked that I was wrong.  Embarrassed that I ran my mouth and was going to have to eat crow because I was wrong.  Did I mention that I hate being wrong?

Well now you know.

But despite my shock, we went home anyway.  We were totally exhausted and I really didn’t have the energy to fight with the ER doctor.  We got home around 3 am and were so sweetly woken up by Adrianna at 5:30.  We ended up sleeping most of the morning on Friday thanks to Greg’s mom.  On my way back to pick up the kids, I was talking to my best friend (who is also a nurse) and we were throwing around possible diagnoses.  The most likely one that we came up with was diverticulitis.  While it did seem like the most likely option, I was pretty sure it was appendicitis on Thursday so what do I know?

I haven’t broken the news to Greg yet that, in order to get the diagnosis of diverticulitis, he will need a colonoscopy.

So if you see him before me, would you be so kind to tell him for me?

You would really be doing me a solid because it won’t be pretty when he gets that news.

You know what?  Just forget that I mentioned this at all.  He gets sorta antsy when I mention him on the blog at all so I can only imagine how mad he will be when he finds out I discussed his internal organs.

4 thoughts on “This is just bizarre

  1. well at least that can be controlled by diet and might explain all his digestive issues through the years. Better than surgery any day in my book. Hope he is doing better this week. Wouldn’t hurt to get scoped to verify Steph and your suspicion.
    Love,
    Nan and Papa

    • I wrote it then saved it as a draft. I really don’t want to get divorced before I turn 30 so I figured it was something I should run by him first. He just kinda rolled his eyes at me and was all, “Whatever. Do what you want.” I figured it would be good for him to hear about it from me rather than a stranger asking him about his pooper, ya know?

      I’m so thoughtful 😀

Leave a Reply

