Menu planning: Week 3

Sunday: Greg & I ate leftovers, the kids ate chicken nuggets

Monday: Pioneer Woman’s meatloaf using hamburger (last month’s shipment) from AFM

Tuesday: leftovers

Wednesday: Stuffed Pork Chops with steamed broccoli & cauliflower covered in Velveeta.

Thursday: Broccoli, rice, cheese & chicken casserole

Friday: leftovers

Saturday: Hamburgers and french fries

Indicates food from Angel Food Ministries

Because I’m slightly neurotic and I love crossing things off of lists, I am going to list (and subsequently cross-off) the food that we use each week from AFM.  Hopefully this will inspire somebody with a new recipe using some food that they already have or give me ideas for new recipes!

  • 28 oz  fully cooked pot roast
  • 3lb Family Tray Pack all-natural split chicken breast
  • 28 oz. fully cooked broccoli, rice & chicken with cheese casserole
  • 8 ct. bean & cheese burritos
  • 1.5 lbs hamburger patties (4×6 oz)
  • 1.5 lb center cut boneless pork chops (6×4 oz)
  • 1.5 lb breaded chicken nuggets
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1 lb all-beef sausage
  • 1 lb crunchy breaded fish wedges
  • 1 lb french-cut green beans
  • 1 lb garden peas
  • 1 lb sliced carrots
  • 1 lb whole kernel corn
  • 1 lb broccoli florets
  • 1 lb cauliflower florets
  • 24 oz. natural cut french fries
  • 1 lb pasta
  • 25 oz. pasta sauce
  • 6 oz. corn bread stuffing
  • 5.5 oz. pancake mix
  • 32 oz. 2% shelf-stable milk (donated because the kids drink soy)
  • 1 dozen eggs
  • 6 ct. fried apple pie sticks
  • 3 lbs Idaho potatoes
  • 3 lbs sweet potatoes (given away because I’m allergic)
  • 3 lbs. JonaMac apples
  • 2 lbs yellow onions
  • 1 lb cello carrots
  • 1 head cello lettuce
  • 1 head green cabbage
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 large cantaloupe
  • 1 golden ripe pineapple
  • 1 lb bag kiwi
  • 4 lemons
  • 4 navel oranges
  • 4 pears

What are you making this week?  I would love to hear some new ideas!  With fall definitely upon us now, we are going to try for chili or soup next week.

9 thoughts on “Menu planning: Week 3

  1. Use your fruit for a fruit salad, use the avacodo on top of burgers, the lemons for fresh lemonaid (yummy!!), Chicken breasts and lettuce to make a fresh chicken salad (could add some of the veggies to the salad). You are making me hungry so I need to stop!
    Love,
    Nan

    • I was planning on mixing the lettuce in with my Romaine that I bring to work everyday for lunch. The chicken is actually a quartered chicken and I was thinking about doing an oven-baked crunchy chicken recipe from my good ol’ pal, Betty Crocker. I hadn’t thought of the avocados on burgers but I do love that idea! Thanks!

  2. I think I’m going to have Josh put Mexican Lasagna on the menu for this week. It’s really yummy, and pretty inexpensive when you consider all the leftovers you get. I meant to do AFM last month but remembered the day after they needed to get my order in.

  3. Pingback: Men are confusing « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

