Toddler Talk Thursday: Clothes

Welcome to the twelfth week of Toddler Talk Thursday! Where Family and Life in Las Vegas, Crazy about my Baybah, and My Life as a Sippy Cup Mom Talk all things Toddler!

Toddler Talk Thursday was created as a place for moms and dads of toddlers to come together over a weekly topic and share ideas, go-to toys, or products. It is a great way to meet other bloggers of toddlers. Each week the topic will be different; we invite you to link up, share your weekly Toddler Talk!!
Each week the hosts will travel around to each blog that links up, and pick an idea, story, or picture they think was a great example of that week’s topic. In order to qualify for this you need to blog about this week’s topic, and follow the hosts. Comments letting us know you are participating are always great too. If we choose your blog, we will link back to your post the following week.

Our highlighted blog this week is:
This week’s topic is : Clothes
 
When I was pregnant with Brock, I was all, “Woe is me.  Girls clothes are soooooo much cuter!  I can’t wait to have a little girl to dress up!”

Back before she figured out how to rip bows out of her hair

 
Ya know what I found out?
 
 
Girls love dirt just as much as boys do!
 

"Dirt is so yummy!"

 
I always imagined that I’d have a prissy little girl who loved to wear dresses & mary-janes & to have her hair done every day.
 
Ha!  I’m telling you, if having kids taught me anything, it was that the least expectations you have, the less you can be disappointed!  I don’t mean that in a bad way at all.  I just mean that I never thought that my son would like to play dress-up more than my daughter 😉
 
One of the most important things that I’ve learned about clothes for both of my kids is that garage sales/hand-me-downs are definitely your friends.  We absolutely buy the kids’ clothes brand-new for special occasions like their birthdays & holidays (they both got beautiful white outfits for their baptismal gown/suit & they are locked away in a shadow box) and if we see something that is just to die for (and on sale!), we will pick it up.  But since I do the laundry in our house and I’m fully aware what they are capable of destroying, we love gently used clothes!
 
 
I would love to have the money (and well-behaved children) to clothe them in pricey kids couture, but realistically, we only shop at Gymboree if I have been given GymBucks or we got a gift certificate.  It’s not that I’m trying to make my kids look like hobos, but they will destroy their clothes, so why spend $40 on one pair of kids jeans when I could get the same thing at Old Navy for $5?
 

What about you?  Do you go all out for your kiddos in the clothing department or are you cheap frugal like me?  Feel free to head over to any of the 3 hosts’ blogs and link up with your own toddler stories!

13 thoughts on “Toddler Talk Thursday: Clothes

  1. Plus that is what Nan, Papa Jimbo, Gigi and Papa Dabe are for, to buy the cutsy clothes and who cares if they tear them up! I have really found some really cute clothes at garage sales/second hand stores and there is nothing wrong with them. Brock even thinks it is cool that he gets JT’s clothes after he outgrows them. And most of them are hand me downs as well. Wonder how many kids can wear clothes that are hand me downs before they start wearing out?? Great way to repurpose and reduce (your spending anyway), so you get a green star today.

  2. We rarely bought the boys new clothes when they were little. We had a great network at church where the clothes went through several little boys before they wore out. Such a blessing to have that expense taken down. Now as teenagers we tell them what we’ll spend on clothing and they have to decide if they want to make up the difference or find a cheaper alternative.

  3. I think I’ve barely even bought clothes for Devon. He’s gotten a tremendous amount of hand me downs which has pretty much stocked him up. Not to mention outfits my mom will pick up. We end up passing them on to our neighbors. I can’t imagine buying everything new.

      • Well I say I can’t imagine it in our current financial situation. If we made a butt load of money then heck yeah I’d buy everything new LOL. I love shopping. We have been really fortunate though with great friends who are willing to pass down their little ones clothes. I did just rediscover our consignment shop across the street. It has tons of cute clothes at a good price. So I think when the hand me downs get fewer and farther between, they’ll be my first stop for shopping.

  4. I have Crystal looking for Sissy clothes since she runs the second hand store in Mexico! Hoping to find really good deals there. I think on Wednesday they have $2.00 bags for kids (all you can fit in a plastic bag for $2.00!!!) .
    They usually have some nice clothes there so I am excited to see what we can find.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

