The light at the end of the tunnel is getting a little bit brighter

Have you entered my giveaway yet?  Do it!  It’s a perfect Christmas gift for the child in your life!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember when I talked about us paying off our colossal amount of debt that we’ve somehow managed to accumulate over the past 11 years of together-ness?

Do you also remember when I said in September (a mere 3 months ago) that it would be about 6 months and we would have Greg’s truck paid off?

Well, guess who has two thumbs and paid off another loan yesterday?

This girl!

That’s right, folks!  Yesterday I proudly walked into our bank, slapped a fat wad of cash on the counter (really it was only $800 but it felt like a fat wad of cash to me!) and promptly demanded a parade for our accomplishment.

Or confetti.

Or at least a little less surliness from the cashier.

He did finally crack a smile but probably because I couldn’t stop smiling and I’m sure it was contagious.

My parents very sweetly offered to give us the last couple hundred dollars of the loan to Greg as his Christmas gift and it is very much appreciated.  However, since we were soooooo close to having it paid off, we took the last bit that we needed to pay off the balance of the loan from super-secret, ultra-protected-with-armed-guards-so-don’t-even-think-about-robbing-us-or-you-will-be-shot-on-site hiding spot and we will replace that money after Christmas with the gift from my parents.

ZOMG!

I’m so excited, I could just scream!

I think I will!

::Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!::

Okay, now that that’s out of my system–

you know what?  It may never be out of my system!  Paying off debt feels so effing good!

Up next: Another credit card.  Very anti-climactic, I know.  But we figured that with the amount that we owe on that credit card, we should have it paid off before we go to Las Vegas this summer (don’t worry–we are going on the ultra-cheap and only for a few days).  It will probably be paid off a couple of months before that, but with Greg going back to school full-time in January, I don’t want to put too high of an expectation on us.

Seriously.

I.  Cannot.  Stop.  Smiling.

8 thoughts on “The light at the end of the tunnel is getting a little bit brighter

  1. Well, I guess we could always save our money and pay off one of our debts since your father has been crazy spending in the past month. But I guess that wouldn’t be fair to Greg would it. Proud of you all, keep up all the work.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

