Pioneer Woman recipe #3: Buttermilk biscuits

As I mentioned in an earlier post, we celebrate Christmas with my parents on Christmas Eve morning.  Last year, for the first time, we hosted breakfast at our house.

This year we hosted again and I decided that it would be the perfect opportunity to try out Pioneer Woman’s buttermilk biscuits.

I was more than a little nervous about making biscuits & gravy since the last time I made them, Greg sheepishly told me that they tasted like “flour paste”.  Of course he told me that after he choked down two helpings so I wouldn’t cry.

He’s pretty swell.  I think I’ll keep him.

This year, I talked to a friend of mine at work and got some tips.  I also used the iron skillet that I bought Greg for Christmas (honest-to-goodness it was on his list & not mine) & stopped about one scoop before I thought I should have on the flour.

The result?

Greg said it was, hands-down, the best sausage gravy that he’s ever eaten.

My dad ate at least 2 helpings.

Personally, I thought I had over-salted it, but since there was just a teensy bit left, I figured I couldn’t have done too badly.

Now, onto the biscuits.

Typically I don’t alter recipes on the first try.  I figured that if they’ve been published, they’ve been messed with enough that they don’t need my alterations (unless it’s to leave out nuts at my son’s request).

However with this recipe, I took a chance & made a change.  The published recipe called for 1 1/4 C buttermilk.  However, it also said to mix them with a fork until they were just mixed & that the dough should be sticky & not too dry or crumbly.  After 1 1/4 C buttermilk, my dough was not sticky & was still very crumbly & dry.  So I added more & mixed again.  Then a little more buttermilk & mixed again.  By the time it was all said & done, I imagine that I used a total of 2 C buttermilk to get it to what I considered to be the right amount of not dry/crumbly stickiness.

Then I rolled the dough out.

I’m not sure if I thought I was making pie crust or what but they were super-duper thin so I balled the dough back up & started over.

They were still thin the second time, but I thought they would rise once I got them in the oven.

The recipe said that it would make 18-24 & I ended up with about 30.

Obviously I made them too thin.

& I think I used too much flour when I was rolling them out.

Things I loved:

  • It was a simple recipe
  • It worked well with my adding almost double the amount of buttermilk that it called for.
  • They tasted really good!

Things I hated:

  • I really kinda wished that the recipe called for yeast instead of baking powder as a leavener.  I guess I was just dreaming of a nice, fluffy biscuit & mine weren’t quite as fluffy as I had hoped.  It’s crazy that I love cooking with yeast now!

Things I learned:

  • They were much more dense that I would have liked for biscuits & gravy.  Don’t get me wrong, they were still yummy, I just think this specific recipe would be better paired with stew or another hearty soup.
  • Don’t roll them out too thin because they will not be nearly as fluffy as you dreamed.  Remember: you are not making pie crust.

P.S. You know what’s weird?  I just searched PW’s website so I could link a picture of what the biscuits are supposed to look like & what mine looked like and in her biscuits & gravy post, she said that she uses canned biscuits because Marlboro Man likes them better!  WTH, Ree?!  I feel totally jipped!

P.P.S. I totally still love Pioneer Woman.  I was just having a moment of weakness and irritation because I couldn’t find the picture that I wanted.  Boo hoo.

7 thoughts on “Pioneer Woman recipe #3: Buttermilk biscuits

  1. OK, you need to make the angel biscuits from the Richland cookbook, they are the best and use yeast. Dad said they were good but he liked the ones I make (hence the hint here) better. One of these days I will tell you the secret ingredient in my sausage gravy and both guys loved the amount of sausage in it. Everything was wonderful and since I am sick, I think you need to make me some cinnamon rolls and deliver them!
    :Love,
    Mom

  2. I recently discovered that the trick to anything with buttermilk and baking powder is that it needs to sit, and preferably over night. Whether biscuits or pancakes, the batter needs to rest to allow everything to activate and rising to occur. I have not managed an overnight rest yet, but I did let pancake batter with buttermilk rest for half an hour and they were twice as fluffy as normal, and probably would have gotten more fluffy if I’d waited even longer.

    Good luck!

  3. Pingback: Um, Christmas? « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

