Pioneer Woman recipe #5: Pineapple Upside-Down cake in an iron skillet

Unfortunately for you guys, I cannot find this recipe on Pioneer Woman’s website.

But trust me when I say, this recipe will change your life.

Even if it’s just because it’s so delicious that you eat the entire cake and your butt jiggles for a month.

Greg said that my jiggle is sexy.

Since I don’t think I can actually give away the recipe, I will share the pictures that my dorky self took while I was making this slice of heaven.

First I made the batter:

Also, it’s pretty obvious that I didn’t clean off my countertop before I started cooking.  Oops!

Then I melted some butter in Greg’s iron skillet:

Next I added some brown sugar & sliced pineapple:

Let me just say that this mixture is pure bliss.  Try to refrain from eating it all before you bake the cake.  It will be difficult but I have faith that you can hold back.

You are better than me.

Next, pour the batter onto the pineapple/brown sugar/butter mixture.

You might have noticed that I left out the cherries.  Mostly because I forgot to pick them up but partially because I could take ’em or leave ’em so I chose to leave ’em this time.

It’s your choice!

The recipe called to bake the cake right in the iron skillet for 30-40 minutes but I actually had to bake it a little longer.  After 30 minutes, the center of the cake had more jiggle than me.

That’s a lot of jiggle, folks.

I ended up baking the cake for closer to 50 minutes.

You know one of the great things about pineapple upside down cake?  It’s very forgiving.  If I had pulled any other cake out of the oven and it was in this shape, I would have died a little.

But when you flip over a pineapple upside down cake, magic happens.

Patience, princess.

Side note: Is there anything cuter than footed pajamas on a toddler?  No.  No there is not.

See?  Magic.  Pure, delicious, wonderful, sugary magic.

Part of the wonderful-ness that is this cake is that there is enough butter in the bottom of the skillet that when you flip it upside down (right side up?), it just slides right out of the skillet.

I love butter.

I wish I had better metabolism.

I’m torn between what I love & what I am.

Maybe I should ponder it while I eat another piece of cake.

2 thoughts on “Pioneer Woman recipe #5: Pineapple Upside-Down cake in an iron skillet

  1. I would say, we would be right over for breakfast but it sounds like there will be none left! And I have to say pineapple upside down cake is not my favorite. Too sweet I think but it looks wonderful. How many more recipes do you have to go?
    Sissy looks so sweet in her PJs. Where is Brock, he missed licking the beater?
    Love,
    Mom and Dad

    • There is plenty left! C’mon over! I’m not sure how many more I have to go; I’ll count them up & include it in my next PW post 😉

      Brock was hanging with Daddy in the living room watching Tom & Jerry so he missed out on the batter but he helped me this morning make cinnamon rolls & a lasagna so he got his quota of spoon-licking done!

Leave a Reply

