Reflections

I’m sure that I’m not alone here, but jeeze Louise.  The snow?  I’ve had enough. 

The 2 foot of snow on top of the 1-inch of ice?  Over it.

The being snowed in for 2 days with my husband & kids?  Shockingly, not as bad as I feared.  We cooked, we cleaned, we built forts, we watched movies.  It was a pretty awesome time, actually.

But.

As much fun as we had over the past few days, I know that not everybody did.  I am a nurse & sick people don’t leave the hospital just because of bad weather.  The mail still has to run.  Somebody has to be out clearing off the roads.  Wal-Mart shelves don’t stock themselves.

This year I was extraordinarily lucky & didn’t get stuck at work sleeping on a cot for three days like my baby sister.

At the beginning of January 2010, I started a new job.  It was for the same hospital that I already worked in, but in a different department.  This new job has allowed me to work a set schedule which includes being home every evening, holidays & (with the exception of being on-call every 3rd weekend), getting weekends off.  It has had such a tremendous impact on our lives. 

It has allowed us to be together at night as a family. 

It has allowed me to tuck my babies in at night.

It has allowed us to plan for things more than a month in advance because I have a set schedule.

It has allowed us to be together at both Thanksgiving and Christmas without forcing me to be up for 30+ hours so I can work and then see my family.

It has allowed me so many wonderful things that I didn’t know that I was missing out on before.

I’m so blessed that I was able to spend the last two days at home with my husband and kids.

I’m so incredibly grateful for those that were stuck at work.

I’m so lucky to have a husband that spent hours the last two days plowing a path down our road so that we and our neighbors could get out of our private road that the state doesn’t plow.

We are so lucky that we never lost power and therefore, heat.

We are so lucky that there was an on-call pediatrician that took mercy on us on Tuesday morning and called in a prescription for my children that both have sinus infections and Adrianna who ended up with another ear infection at a time when their pediatrician’s office was closed & we were on the verge of the biggest snow/ice storm that our area has seen in years.  The on-call pediatrician didn’t give me any flack about calling in a script without them being seen.  She was amazing & she really went above & beyond for us.  If we didn’t already love our pediatrician, I would consider switching to her.

I’m so lucky (& utterly in shock) that my children were on their best behavior over the last two days.  Despite the fact that we couldn’t go anywhere, they played wonderfully together.  They napped great.  They ate food that wasn’t chicken nuggets.  They didn’t complain about being stuck in the house with me.

Despite what could have been (& was for some) a horrendous few days, I’m so overwhelmed by how lucky we were.

4 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. The most fun we had was figuring out how to get out of the snow fort Mother Nature had built for us. I am not kidding it was up to my waist. I am going to have to tie a rope on Brock if he goes outside, I will lose him in the drifts. But Papa cleared a spot on the patio for the little princess if she chooses to go outside.
    No I am sorry, the best part was seeing Dave Stemme come plowing up our driveway after your dad had worked for two hours and was making no progress thanks to the ice below the huge drifts.
    Love,
    Mom and Dad

    • That little girl is NOT going outside. Yesterday after her nap, I said, “Do you wanna go out & see Daddy?” and she said, “Uh-huh!”. Then I opened the door & I said, “Are you sure?” and she said, “Huh-uh!”

      Smart girl.

Leave a Reply

