We come together ‘cuz opposites attract

Greg and I are polar opposites.  (Is it just me or does the word “opposites” look like it’s misspelled.  It’s not.  I checked.  Twice.)  And more than a he’s-a-guy-&-I’m-a-girl kinda way.  In fact it was something that we always joked about when we first started dating. 

We do have a few things in common like we both grew up in rural areas (about 10 minutes apart, actually) & that we each only have one sister. 

That’s pretty much where the similarities end.  You think I’m kidding?  I anticipated that so I prepared a few examples for you.

I loathe taking baths. 

I have several reasons.  For one thing, our bathtub is so small that either your top half or bottom half are sticking out of the water.  Thus, you are only half-comfortable at best.  Reason #2: Not that I get extraordinarily dirty during the day, but I hate the fact that I have to splash my own watered-down filth all over myself in order to get quasi-clean.  Finally?  Washing hair (specifically girls’ hair) whilst taking a bath is a pain in the arse.  If I want to have my hair clean, I can’t soak it in the bath water.

Greg loves ’em. 

Can’t get enough. 

He says they are relaxing.

He woke up at 5am one day last week just so he could enjoy a bath without the beasts interrupting his bath time.

Honey, if you are reading this, know that I still love you and think that you are very manly.  Muah.

Greg loves to try new things.  He loves going to restaurants that he drove past one day but knows nothing about.  When we get to the new restaurant, he loves to order obscure menu items like fried alligator (which is surprisingly really good!) or duck breast.  I’m not like that at all.  If I find something that I like at a restaurant, I will continue to get that dish.  In fact, I was so upset one day when I went to TGIFriday’s because they had discontinued “my” menu item that I pouted for a good 5-10 minutes before I just caved and ordered something else.  I wouldn’t dream about waltzing into a restaurant without getting a recommendation from a friend or family member.

What if they don’t have any menu items that I like? 

What if I’m overdressed?

What if I’m underdressed?

What if it’s a French restaurant and I don’t have any clue how to pronounce any of the menu items and I look like a big, fat loser?

I’m basically a weenie.

Greg loves to flip through the TV and randomly stop on a movie that he’s never heard of just because it’s at the very beginning & he’s never seen it.

If I’m left to choose between a movie that I’ve never seen before & the last 20 minutes of The Fast & the Furious (which I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve seen more than a few times), I will skip over the movie that I’ve never seen & watch Paul Walker (yum!) & Vin Diesel (extra yum!) in all their tight t-shirt, muscle-bound glory.

Even though I’m neurotic about most some things, I’m much more relaxed between the two of us.  Greg is a worrier & I’m more of a it-will-work-itself-out kinda gal.  This one has actually gotten me into trouble a few times so it’s something that I’m working on.

Yet somehow, despite all of our differences, we love each other to make it work.  I love him despite the fact that he worries himself into a tizzy & loves taking baths and he loves me despite the fact that I don’t like to try new food and that I blog about our lives for all the world to see.

It kinda keeps our life exciting!

Happy Love Day!

7 thoughts on “We come together ‘cuz opposites attract

  1. Not to mention, he is most comfortable outside and you hate to be outside with the bugs, frogs, and all the other crawly things. You LOVE chocolate, he doesn’t so much.
    Sometimes that is what makes it interesting.
    There are other similar things you have in common, you both love your children to distraction, like to go places, enjoy cooking.
    Happy Valentines day to you both.
    Love,
    Mom and Dad

  2. No matter the differences, you guys have definately found the one person God created for you.
    Mike, too, is a spontaneous guy. Used to drive me (planner to the hilt) absolutely nuts. Now, I just go with it. Age really does earn some wisdom. He’s also given in to some of my planning tendencies so it’s really all good.
    I love to cook, he loves to eat (and no, he doesn’t gain a pound no matter what he eats even though he’s nearly 3 years into his 40’s and I look at food and usually gain).

  3. I agree with the bath! I’ll try new restaurants but probably order something familar. The part about TGIFridays cracked me up cause I did the same thing when Chevy’s changed their Flautas. Josh and I are very much different too. I think it makes it fun. Besides….there’s no way I could be married to myself LOL I would drive me nuts!

  4. Pingback: Thankful « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

