Day 1 (of 31)

I’ve been thinking about participating in a bloggy challenge for a while now but I never really found any.

I’m really not being snarky & whiney and all, “Well, I just don’t think that one fits me.”  I just really haven’t come across any at all.  But today?  Today I found one that I’m going to try to participate in. 

I say try because I’m on the verge of letting allergies get the best of me, Spring is trying to peek out its timid little head which means that my kiddos, my husband & myself crave the sunshine and need to be outside as much as possible and?  I’ve got four (yeah!) It Works! wrap parties within the next 2 weeks!

It really feels so good to be busy yet productive.

Now.  Who is going to come and tackle the mountain of laundry that I’ve been ignoring for the past 2 weeks?

Please?

I will pay you in cookies!

Back to the blog challenge.

Bringing Up Bumble is hosting a 31-day challenge that celebrates YOU!  Which, who doesn’t want to blog about themselves incessantly?  I know I do!  Anyway, she started on March 1 and since I’m late to every party (but it’s only the 4th so I think I’m still considered to be fashionably late at this point), I’m going to start today!  Yippee!

Here’s the list:

Day 1. I have a three-month old and already I’m thinking, I’m going to miss him at this age. Have you felt that way, and what age do you miss the most?
Day 2. What makes you uniquely you?
Day 3. A photo that makes you happy
Day 4. Style 31. Post a pic of you in your favorite outfit.
Day 5. Write a blog thanking someone who has made your heart come alive.
Day 6. Your most embarrassing moment
Day 7. Do you believe in the “cry until he sleeps” method?
Day 8. Have a beauty secret (e.g. hair tip, make up tip)? Share, please!
Day 9. What virtues do you value in yourself?
Day 10. What are some of your favorite MAC products, and what foundation/powder do you wear?
Day 11. Post a recipe. Or if you don’t cook, try a new recipe and write about how it turned out (pictures please!).
Day 12. Write about what wears you out as a woman.
Day 13. A YouTube video
Day 14. Style 31. Post an outfit pic!
Day 15. What do you wish for?
Day 16. How old was Carter when he started sleeping through the night and how did you do this?
Day 17. Write about 3 things that make you happy.
Day 18. If you could, what would you tell yourself before you had your baby?
Day 19. Write about your significant other
Day 20. Write about your job and why you love it or hate it.
Day 21. Write about your most vivid childhood memory. Post a picture of you taken over ten years ago.
Day 22. What did you do today?
Day 23. Who’s your celebrity look-alike?
Day 24. What is God teaching you presently?
Day 25. Style 31. Post a pic of your favorite comfy clothes.
Day 26. What do you hope your grandchildren will say about you someday when you are gone?
Day 27. Who are your favorite bloggers?
Day 28. Write about your insecurities as a woman.
Day 29. Your day, in great detail
Day 30. What do you think is going to happen to you after you die?
Day 31. Your favorite quote
 
So, let’s get started!
 
Day 1. “I have a three-month old and already I’m thinking, I’m going to miss him at this age. Have you felt that way, and what age do you miss the most?”
I love love love the newborn stage.
 
Well, I love the newborn stage when the baby is being cooperative & isn’t up all night screaming at you.
 
I’ve said it before, Brock was a super-easy baby.  So easy that we got cocky and decided to have another one so soon after he turned one because he wasn’t a “baby” anymore. 
 
 Ha!  We were such fools!
 
 
Look at those curls. 
 
I die.
 
Brock and Adrianna are 23 months & 1 day apart and, yes I know.  Plenty of other people have had children much closer together.  But, when Adrianna was born, Greg was working 2 hours away 4-5 days/week and I was determined to not have our parents raise our children so I didn’t want to run crying to them every night because Brock needed to be tucked in at exactly the same time that Adrianna woke up and was ready to nurse (holy run-on sentence).  So, I cried.  A lot.  Or I would put Adrianna in her crib where she was safe and just let her cry it out while I read a book to Brock and tucked him in.
 
 
You see this picture?  This was taken whilst she was screaming her fool head off because I had just nursed her and she wanted to take a nap but since I’m the meanest mom in the history of ever, she didn’t get to take her nap and she had to wear a pretty little pink dress that her Daddy bought her and a matching headband.  Waaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!  She happened to stop for one hot minute and the photographer snapped like crazy to get one that wasn’t of pissed-off baby.
 
She was a really good photographer.
 
Still is, actually.  If you want, I can give you her number!
 
Anyway, the point to all of that woe-is-me rambling is that, when newborns aren’t screeching at you because “ZOMG!  You aren’t getting your teat out fast enough, MOM!” they rock my socks.
 
I cannot get enough of the way that they smell.  From their sweet little heads to tiny baby breath.
 
I love the way that they pass out in your arms after a delicious meal of milk and, while they are dreaming of ruining your precious sleep later that night, the corner of their tiny little mouth curls up into a wee, little smile.
 
I love that they have a startle reflex and how they throw their arms & legs out if you move them too quickly but then CLING to you once they manage to settle themselves down again.
 
I love that a sleeping baby on your chest is better than any modern sleeping aid that any drug company sells.
 
I love when my big strong husband is at a loss because our tiny baby is so “fragile” & he carries them around like they could shatter into a thousand pieces at any moment.
 
I love the newborn stage.  But only when they are happy.  And when my husband is home every night (he is now).  And when they smell good and need a nice, cushy place to take a nap.
 
2 thoughts on “Day 1 (of 31)

  1. i love that you’re fashionably late! it makes me want to be your friend haha 😛
    you have a really cute way of writing! thanks for joining. & don’t worry i’m waiting for my day to day blogging record to fail any day now 🙂

    • Well, thanks! I write exactly how I talk so I will definitely take that as a compliment 😀

      I’m really hoping that I can stick with it and keep up with blogging everyday. We shall see, I guess!

Leave a Reply

