Day 10 (of 31)

I kinda had to modify this a little because I don’t use MAC products because 1. I’m cheap & 2. I don’t know where MAC products are carried in my area!
 
Remember when I posted about how I knew nothing about doing my hair/make-up/wardrobe before I met my best friend? 
 
And remember how I blogged about my beloved CHI and I only knew of its greatness because of Stephanie?
 
Well, the same is true about make-up.
 
I very rarely wore make-up until a few years ago. 
 
Partially because I never wore it so people (including myself) didn’t realize how hideous I was without it.  Partially because my favorite deadly sin is sloth and if I had to choose between sleeping in an extra 5 minutes or putting paste on my face, I chose sleep.
 
Then one day, Stephanie did my make-up (alá: 4th grade sleepover style) and I realized how much better I looked with even color (rather than the normal blotchiness I was previously sporting) and a touch of pink on my cheeks.  I found a Mary Kay consultant nearby and scheduled a party with her. 
 
I went in, whole hog & bought EVERYTHING. 
 
Moisturizer?  Obviously.  I don’t want wrinkles!
 
Under eye anti-dark circle cream?  Duh.  I can’t look tired.
 
Blue mascara?  Sign me up! (I really wish I was kidding.)
 
I don’t mean to slam Mary Kay because, at the time, it was a good (albeit expensive) fit.  Brock was still an only child and I wasn’t working day shift so I didn’t have to get up at o-dark-thirty to get myself & two kids (obviously with Greg’s help) ready and out the door so I can get to work on time.
 
Nowadays, I’m a Bare Minerals kinda gal.
 
I love that it only takes me 5-7 minutes to do my makeup and it looks great!  No cakey lines at my jaw.  No weird streaks that liquid foundation can leave when you’re in a hurry. 
 
My favorite product?
 
The Soft-Focus All Over Face Colors in warmth.  I use it as a bronzer and it gives you a nice sun-kissed glow minus the sun damage!
 
Day 1. I have a three-month old and already I’m thinking, I’m going to miss him at this age. Have you felt that way, and what age do you miss the most?
Day 2. What makes you uniquely you?
Day 3. A photo that makes you happy
Day 4. Post a pic of you in your favorite outfit.
Day 5. Write a blog thanking someone who has made your heart come alive.
Day 6. Your most embarrassing moment.
Day 7. Do you believe in the “cry until he sleeps” method?
Day 8. Have a beauty secret (e.g. hair tip, make up tip)? Share, please!
Day 9. What virtues do you value in yourself?
Day 10. What are some of your favorite MAC products, and what foundation/powder do you wear?
Day 11. Post a recipe. Or if you don’t cook, try a new recipe and write about how it turned out (pictures please!).
Day 12. Write about what wears you out as a woman.
Day 13. A YouTube video
Day 14. Style 31. Post an outfit pic!
Day 15. What do you wish for?
Day 16. How old was Carter when he started sleeping through the night and how did you do this?
Day 17. Write about 3 things that make you happy.
Day 18. If you could, what would you tell yourself before you had your baby?
Day 19. Write about your significant other
Day 20. Write about your job and why you love it or hate it.
Day 21. Write about your most vivid childhood memory. Post a picture of you taken over ten years ago.
Day 22. What did you do today?
Day 23. Who’s your celebrity look-alike?
Day 24. What is God teaching you presently?
Day 25. Post a pic of your favorite comfy clothes.
Day 26. What do you hope your grandchildren will say about you someday when you are gone?
Day 27. Who are your favorite bloggers?
Day 28. Write about your insecurities as a woman.
Day 29. Your day, in great detail
Day 30. What do you think is going to happen to you after you die?
Day 31. Your favorite quote
6 thoughts on “Day 10 (of 31)

  1. LOVE mAC products. 🙂 It’s the only eyeshadow I use. They’re (to my knowledge) only sold at Macy’s stores, and then it’s only certain ones. Just in case you wanted to try them out. They do have a naturals line too. I’ve always wanted to try the Bare Naturals makeup. Where do you find it? Can you buy it online? Is it easy to find your shade? Easy to use? Do tell woman. Maybe I’ll drink that Kool-Aid as well. 😉

    • There is a Macy’s here so I might have to check them out. Although, sometimes they don’t have all of the brands/designers that the larger stores/cities carry but I might get lucky 😉

      I either buy mine online, from QVC (sometimes they have great deals!) or from Sephora (ours is in our JCPenny). If you want to try it out for the first time, I would get thee to a Sephora and have an associate help you figure out shades, etc. It is easy to match your shade because there aren’t too many basic shades to choose from. I use one step-up from the lightest as my foundation and I’m pretty pasty 😀

      Good luck!

  2. Hun, I totally feel you on the “valuing sleep over pretty” thing. I actually still don’t really wear make-up, which may or may not be a positive 😉

    I’m seriously considering trying to get into wearing make-up on a somewhat regular basis, and I’ve heard good things about the Bare Minerals, so I’ll have to give that a shot.

    Any other recommendations? And did the dark circle cream work? 🙂

    • The dark circle cream did okay, but it was just a “thicker” foundation that you would apply under your eyes (that was the MaryKay stuff). It worked but it definitely faded as the day wore on so if I didn’t bring it with me to work, you couldn’t tell that I had done anything different by the end of the day.

      As far as the Bare Minerals go, I use one step above the lightest shade of foundation, the bronzer and then the mineral veil (in that order). I use the regular brush for all three but I use the Bukki brush for a second coat of foundation after the first coat of foundation just for a little extra coverage and to help even out the redness in my face) Then I just dab a tiny bit of blush, eye shadow (at work I just do a light pink or a light beige color) and then mascara. Done in less than 10 minutes! Easy-peasy!

      When I first started using Bare Minerals, they had a “starter kit” with smaller sizes of the foundation/mineral veil/bronzer that you would need so you can figure out if you like it without dropping a small fortune on the stuff 😀

  3. I have no idea how to use makeup. Seriously. I’m like a 5 year old little kid with crayons, make that a 2 year old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

