It Works! Wednesday: Week 5

A few weeks ago on It Works! Wednesday, I reviewed the Defining Gel.  This week, I want to introduce you guys to another one of my favorite products: Greens

Not eating your fruits and vegetables like you should? Get what you are missing with Greens, a delicious (okay, delicious is being generous) orange-flavored drink powder with the nutritional value of 8+ servings of fruits and vegetables in each serving.

Greens blends 38 herbs and nutrient-rich “superfoods” to provide vitamins, minerals, phytonutrients, and enzymes in their naturally occurring, bio-active, bio-available form. Greens helps to:

  • Detoxify
  • Alkalize the body
  • Balance the immune system

Greens is a pleasant tasting, orange-flavored powder. Simply add to water or juice.

Wanna know what’s actually in the Greens?

  • Soy Lecithin
  • Alfalfa Grass
  • Apple Fiber
  • Spirulina Pacifica
  • Soy Protein Isolate
  • Wheat Grass Powder
  • Barley Grass Powder
  • Barley Malt (Sprouted)
  • Brown Rice Bran Powder
  • Probiotic Cultures
  • Bee Pollen
  • Royal Jelly
  • Acerola Berry Juice
  • Chlorella (Japanese)
  • Glycamil Extract
  • Red Beet Juice Powder
  • Siberian Ginseng Extract
  • Astragalus Membranaceus Extract
  • Milk Thistle Extract
  • Ginkgo Biloba (24:6 concentration)
  • Green Tea Extract (Leaf Extract)
  • Nova Scotia Dulse
  • Aloe Vera (200:1 concentration)
  • Bilberry Extract (Sweedish)

Doesn’t all of that sound yummy?!

Okay, here’s the low-down.  When I first heard about Greens, I was so pumped to try them!  But also a little skeptical.  I’m all about getting healthy but could 2 tiny scoops of this stuff really keep me from getting sick?  What does it really taste like?  Can I give it to my kids to keep them from getting sick?

As I mentioned earlier, one thing that the Greens do is alkalize the naturally acidic human body.  One of the benefits of that is bacteria like to grow in an acidic environment.  If you change your body’s pH and make it more alkaline than acidic, bacteria aren’t as likely to set up shop in your space.  I’m not saying that this will cure any disease that you currently have nor am I saying that it will keep you from ever getting sick.  What I am saying is that this winter, I was sick twice; once was strep throat.  Thank you very much, baby girl.  Several other people in my house that refused to take Greens, were sick a few more times than that.  I’m a nurse and am around sick people all the time.  The kids go to an in-home daycare where none of the kids know what appropriate social boundaries are and they share everything; germies included.  It’s not like I was exposed to sickness any less than any other person in my house.  But I managed to avoid it most of the time.

I try to sneak it in the kids’ juice when I can but Brock is on to me and will flip his sippy upside down and refuse to drink it if he sees Greens.  I tried to tell him that it was Shrek juice and he told me it was “weird”.  Adrianna is much better about drinking her Greens but only because she’s not quite as strong-willed as her brother.  (FYI: I only do 1 scoop in the kids’ drinks.)  Another option for sneaking Greens into your family’s mouths?  Bake it into goodies.  I’ve never done it so I’m unsure of how much per brownie/cupcake/cookie but play around with it and see what works best for you!

Finally, let’s talk about the taste.  It’s . . . . well, it’s horrible.  The first time I tried it, I mixed it in water and I was literally afraid that I was going to throw up.

I didn’t.

I spat it out.

The next day, I mixed it in orange juice and it was much more tolerable.  It does have a weird texture (that’s the alkaline quality) and if I don’t stir it up well, it gets chunky at the bottom.  I just give it a good swirl and then?  Chug-a-lug, baby.

Be sure to let me know if there are any products that you want to know more about, if you want to book a party or if you want to sign up to become a loyal customer or a distributor!

Week 1: How I got started with It Works!

Week 2: Product info: The Ultimate Body Applicators

Week 3: Product info: Defining Gel

Week 4: Product info: Facial Applicators

3 thoughts on “It Works! Wednesday: Week 5

  1. Pingback: It Works! Wednesday: Week 6 « Many Sleepless Nights

    • I do 2 scoops of Greens in the morning, mixed in juice (Juicy Juice seems to work the best for me). I do not use it as a meal replacement, rather a supplement to ensure that I’m getting all of the trace minerals, all of my servings of fruits and veggies and that I’m alkalizing my body!

Leave a Reply

