Putting on my big girl panties and getting back on the wagon

A month Two months ago I decided that I needed a break from dieting/healthy eating.  Not a full-on, Imma-eat-everything-that-I-see kinda thing but I just needed . . . a break. 

I needed to not log every single bite of food I ate in my food journal.

I needed to be able to eat with a little more freedom and not have to worry about skimping on dinner because we ordered lunch at work.

I also needed to get outta my funk.

I’ve always been a big proponent of having a reset period when trying to lose weight.  I was on such a roll last year.  I lost close to 25 pounds and then I hit a plateau that I couldn’t bust out of.  Then I started to allow myself to cheat a little.  Just little things here and there and then it turned into eating a donut for breakfast, ordering out for lunch and eating a huge helping of lasagna with 3 bread sticks on the side for dinner.  Possibly followed up with some Ben & Jerry’s. 

::hangs head in shame::

And, all things considered, I didn’t do too bad.  I only gained back 5 7 pounds so I’m thrilled with that.  It could have been much worse.

I ate a lot of peanut buster parfaits, y’all.

Greg & I decided this weekend that it was time to get back on the weight-loss wagon.  I’m not doing anything drastic and, unfortunately, I still don’t really have time to workout like I would like to.  I’m not expecting huge changes but I am hopeful that I could lose another 5-10 pounds by my birthday in July.

It’s the 14th in case you want to buy me a present.

And, speaking of presents, I decided that while I’m definitely working toward a healthier goal weight, I’m also going to start loving my current body a little more.

“Loving myself a little more” is a present to myself in case you missed that segue.

Greg and I are getting ready to take a mini-vacay and there will be water involved & rather than being shamed out of the pool, I decided it was time for a new bathing suit.

Do you think I actually remembered to take a picture of it? 

Nope.  But the one below is pretty darn close.  And MC Sport was having a sale this weekend so I got it for much less than the listed price online.  Score!

 

{source}

I know it kinda screams, “I’m a mom and am trying to cover up my post-baby belly” but let’s be real here.  I am a mom.  I am trying to cover up my post-baby belly.

At first I was sort-of horrified by my reflection but then I took a deep breath and shut down those self-loathing thoughts.

This is me.  I’m a work in progress and I recognize that.  I’m not going to go crazy trying to lose weight but I do want to be a better example for my children.  I want to learn to love my body despite the fact that I have a spare tire around my waist and, at the ripe ol’ age of not-quite-28, my arms are starting to jiggle.

The point?

I’m going to work on changing the things I can but still loving those things that I’m working on.

When I turned around and saw that I had some (not lots but enough that it bugged me) back fat sticking out of the top of my suit, I decided that I was going to use an Ultimate Body Applicator every 72 hours until we leave.  So last night, just before bed, with Greg’s help, I wrapped my upper back fat.  Admittedly, it was a little strange having Saran wrap across my boobs.  But?  When I woke up this morning and I had lost 2.5 inches, I rushed to grab my new swimsuit to see what it looked like.

The results?

Much less back fat.

So I was pleased.

I’m also working on healthier eating.

Today’s meal:

Breakfast: English muffin with 1 tsp butter & 2 tsp jelly.

AM snack: 100 calorie pack Chips Ahoy

Lunch: salad (from our garden!) with grilled chicken breast + a side of mac & cheese

PM snack: none; too full from lunch

Supper: another salad with chicken breast.

And lots and lots of water to drink.  I’m done with soda.  I’ve never liked the flavor of full-on soda and Aspartame is just way to bad for you so I’m cutting it out.  In all honesty, I will probably have one here and there but I’m making a conscious effort to eliminate it all together.

I know that I’ve blogged about this stuff before and it’s not like I’m all, “Yay!  Imma lose 20 pounds in 10 days!” because this is a lifestyle rather than a crash diet and the last couple of months was a reset period. 

I’m motivated.

I’ve got my best friend (that would be Greg.  The bestie didn’t move in with us) & kiddos to keep me accountable at home.

I’ve got you guys to keep me accountable here.

I’ve got images of myself in my bathing suit as a short-term goal & images of my kids as teenagers as a long-term goal.

I’ve also got my trusty wraps when I need them.

And I’ve got Blair and all of her buds that check-in on McFatty Monday (and her blog post this week was appropriately titled ‘Lessons from the Bathing Suit’).

I’m ready to do this.

The Down and Dirty

Last weigh in: 168.6

Current weigh in: 176.0 (up 7.1 from a few months ago but I’m still at an overall loss of 17.5)

Goals for this week:

  • Drop 1 pound (175.0) 
  • Exercise twice this week. 
  • Drink 2 liters of water/day
  • No soda
2 thoughts on “Putting on my big girl panties and getting back on the wagon

Leave a Reply

