PW recipe #6: Marlboro Man’s favorite sandwich

I feel like we’ve been so incredibly busy lately that we haven’t even had time to eat a proper meal unless you count deli sandwiches and chicken nuggets.

This weekend, I decided that I wanted to actually cook and it had been awhile since I’ve made anything from P-Dub so I said “No!” to chicken nuggets!

One of the best decisions of my life.

Brace yourself: there is butter in this recipe and lots of it.

Side note: I bought this iron skillet for Greg for Christmas last year and he has used it a total of twice.  I’ve used it at least 10 times as many as he has.  He says that he is going to buy me my own for this Christmas.  I’m hoping I can talk him into a bigger one though!

It’s interesting how much my taste buds have changed over the years.  I used to despise onions.  Now, I don’t necessarily love them but carmelized onions really make this sammie that much more tasty.

I used cube steak in this recipe but I think next time I will try a more tender cut like Ribeye.  Mmmmmmmm.  I love steak!

Oh, mercy.

This is why I need a bigger iron skillet.  I had to remove some of the meat so I could cook the rest.

::sigh::

Again: Oh, mercy.  Carmelized onions + strips of steak + more butter = delicious.

If I can help it, I don’t want to eat another un-toasted sandwich again.

My name is Tara and I’m addicted to butter.

Hello, gorgeous.

I’m also addicted to cheese.

Especially the kind that melts into a delicious gooey mess in my mouth.

::thud::

If you haven’t made this sandwich yet, you should.

Immediately if not sooner.

7 thoughts on “PW recipe #6: Marlboro Man’s favorite sandwich

  1. I made those last week and they were awesome, told Dad they would be better with green peppers on them and he agreed but that is because we loved green peppers and onions on many things. I haven’t made anything in her cookbook that I don’t like. Some things I won’t be making, like the goat cheese pizza. I also thought about making them tomorrow night but may try something else like a smoked pork butt! What do you think?? I will have leftovers for Wednesday night.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

