6 Weeks

**Disclaimer: I wrote this post a week-ish ago.  I’m still getting you guys caught up!

Again, I’m working really hard on an anti-bitch face:

20120605-080358.jpg

While I’m definitely not sporting a baby bump yet (ya know, since the baby is only a couple of millimeters long), my love handles are getting a little more pronounced . . .

20120605-080404.jpg

How far along? 6 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: Up 2 lbs but I completely attribute that to the fact that we took Brock to Six Flags this weekend and I ate the following: a giant turkey leg (I shared with Brock), a funnel cake sundae (complete with ice cream, whipped cream and chocolate sauce)(I shared with Greg and Brock) and 2 giant sticks of strawberry laffy taffy. And that’s not counting McDonald’s on the way up there.
Maternity clothes? Nope
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads
Sleep:Um, not too bad yet. But I’m still having weird dreams. I’m actually working on a separate post detailing my dreams.
Best moment this week: Our ultrasound that is TODAY!!!
Worst moment this week: Really nothing. Things have been status quo so far and I’m not going to jinx myself if I can help it. The worst thing that I’ve dealt with so far is being tired but, like Greg said, “Babe. When are you NOT tired. I’m not sure that you can blame the baby for this one.”
He’s got a point.
Movement: None. Obviously. I’m only 6 weeks.
Food cravings: Strawberry laffy taffy & Diet Coke. I really loved strawberry laffy taffy before I got pregnant, but this weekend I saw somebody eating some and my mouth instantly started to water. Luckily I found some right away. I will tell you this: There are few things better than craving something (pregnant or not) and finding that exact thing.
Gender: Brock still wants a brother but Adrianna goes back and forth between brother and sister. As of right now, we are not going to find out the gender. But things may change between now and 20 weeks . . .
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Having the energy to stay up past 8pm
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my husband/family/co-workers are so supportive. That my children are excited (so far).  That I haven’t spent this first 6 weeks puking.
What I am looking forward to: Being able to tell people! Doing our initial visit at the doctor (which is later today!) and discussing all of our options for this time (hospital vs. home, epidural vs. natural, etc.) Our first ultrasound. Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: Not puking on roller coasters this weekend with Brock! But if my doctor asks, I did not ride a roller coaster.  And I had to take my very first Tums (of this pregnancy) yesterday.  Note to self: Remember to ask the doctor about anti-heartburn meds before you burn a hole in your esophagus.
Symptoms:constipation, shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, tingly boobs, slight heartburn
Technical baby news:

This week marks the start of a crucial stage of development, one that will last until week 10. Although Baby is still only a few millimeters long from head to tail, there are the beginnings of eyes, ears, mouth and nose (though these are all just slight indentations right now) and Baby’s blood is beginning to flow with the help of his pumping heart. Your baby is entering the embryonic period, a vulnerable time for the fetus: the brain, heart and limbs are growing more complex, and a number of factors can interfere with their development. Taking good care of yourself is the best thing you can do for your baby right now.

4 thoughts on “6 Weeks

Leave a Reply

