A different kind of co-sleeping

When I was pregnant with both of the kids, I wanted to attempt co-sleeping.  It worked about 1 night with each kid because Greg is such an incredibly light sleeper that all of their grunts and snoring and whistling through their boogies would keep him up all night.  Then he would complain to me about how little sleep he got.  And then I would stab him in the face because, hi.  I was breastfeeding and was up with the little monster every 1.5 hours because we produce the thirstiest children on the planet.

Co-sleeping was never an option for us.  The transitioned from the bassinet into the crib at a fairly early age and it worked for all of us.    Except for Adrianna who earned herself the nickname, Devil Baby at approximately 6 months old.  She hated me and didn’t start sleeping through the night until she was 18 months old.

True story.

If that’s any indication of how things will be with the child that is in utero, we are going to have problems.

As the kids have gotten older, they sleep longer stretches but they both still wake up at the butt-crack of dawn.  I’m talking, consistently before 5:30am and it’s usually Brock yelling, “Moooooommmmm???” {5 second pause} “Moooooommmmm?!?!?!”  “Moooommmmm?!  Can I wake up?”

On top of that, Adrianna has been having nightmares lately.  Anytime between the hours of 2-4am, she will wake me up screaming, “Ahhhh!  No!!  Don’t do that!  Weave my babies awone!!!”  When I jolt out of bed and rush into their room, she is, naturally, sound asleep.

But last night, they decided that they wanted to sleep together.

20120615-132722.jpg

They were passed out less than 5 minutes after they laid down and didn’t wake up until

. . . . .

. . . . .

. . . . .

6:45 this morning!  It was the most glorious thing EVER!!!!

Greg and I have decided that they are going to bunk together every night until one of them moves out of the house if that’s what it takes to get them to sleep that late.

I’m not joking.

2 thoughts on “A different kind of co-sleeping

Leave a Reply

