Opposites

Last night we were driving home from dinner where we celebrated my parents’ 33rd wedding anniversary.

Greg and I like to play games like I Spy and The Opposite Game in the car with the kids to keep them occupied. Last night, we were playing The Opposite Game but with a twist. Brock (rather than one of us) would ask what the opposite of a certain word was and we would have to come up with the right word.

After he went through the standard light/dark, fat/skinny, etc. he started to get creative.

Things like, “What’s the opposite of pole?”
(My answer was hole. Because a pole sticks out of the ground and a hole goes into the ground. Bonus points to me for thinking on my feet!)

Then he came up with this gem**:
Brock: “What’s the opposite of fluffy?”

Me: “Prickly”

Him: “Uh, no! It’s un-com-fort-able.”

Duh. Obviously I’m a total moron.

*Can I just say how proud I am of my parents?? 33 years is pretty amazing and they are such an inspiration. I love that they admit that every day isn’t a fairy tale but that they still are embarrassingly in love with each other and that they work every day to make their marriage work.

**I will probably always and forever try to spell gem like Jem. As in Jem and the Rockers. You can take the girl out of the 80s . . .

2 thoughts on “Opposites

  1. I agree with the fluffy/uncomfortable thing. I am fluffy therefore I am comfortable.
    Thanks for the shoutout about our anniversary. Everyday most definately is not a fairytale but it has been an awesome trip and wouldn’t want to share it with anyone other than your Dad. That is my prayer for you and your sister! To have someone that you love more after 33 years than you did the day you married him.
    Love,
    Your Mommy.

Leave a Reply

