8 Weeks

You guys?  I’m really sorry but the greasy hair/glasses look is back this week.  I got called in to work on Sunday night for almost 4 hours (from midnight to almost 4) and then had to be back at work yesterday at 7:30am.  I am feeling better today but sleep won out over beauty again today.

I didn’t give you too much bitch face, though!  We will call these pictures a wash.

20120619-110439.jpg

I would like to claim that there is the beginning of a baby bump in the picture below but it’s not.  I’m just a little bloated.  And the baby isn’t that high anyway.  Yet.

20120619-110521.jpg

How far along? 8 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: Still down 1 lb from pre-pregnancy weight. Which I realize isn’t groundbreaking but I’m thankful that I haven’t already gained 20 pounds and that I haven’t spent the entire first 8 weeks throwing up and therefore losing 20 pounds.
Maternity clothes? Nope
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads
Sleep: It’s still pretty hit or miss. Last night I slept like the dead. Some nights I toss and turn. Other nights I wake up at 2am and can’t go back to sleep so I insomnia-text (it’s like drunk-texting minus the alcohol; still plenty of typos) my bestie who happened to have fallen asleep with her cell phone on her chest. When my ring-tone is Baby Got Back and it blares in her face at 2am, it’s funny. For me.
Best moment this week: Not baby related but we have decided to start the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace University. It’s been pretty humbling this week examining our finances with a fine-tooth comb. Basically? It sucks but it’s a good (and necessary) step in the right direction. I can’t wait to start paying things off!
Worst moment this week: See above.
Movement: Just gas so far. But I can’t wait to feel those first little flutters!
Food cravings/aversions: Again, it’s really hit or miss. The other night I was fixing a glamorous meal of hamburger helper and the smell of the cooking hamburger made me super-sickey. But this weekend, I made biscuits and gravy and it didn’t bother me at all when I was cooking the sausage. As far as cravings; I’m really digging tart things right now. Salt and vinegar chips are at the top of my list.
Gender: Brock still wants a brother but Adrianna goes back and forth between brother and sister. As of right now, we are not going to find out the gender. But things may change between now and 20 weeks . . . And I’ve been having lots of “boy” vibes lately. But I was completely wrong with the other two kids so we will see.
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my husband/family/co-workers are so supportive. That my children are excited (so far). That I haven’t spent this first 8 weeks puking. It’s okay to be thankful for the same things 3 weeks in a row, right?
What I am looking forward to: Feeling the baby move. Our next appointment with the doctor because we get another ultrasound (because peanut was too small during the first one to see anything other than the amniotic sac)! Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks. Figuring out what we are going to do about space in our tiny house or possibly selling/renting our house and moving somewhere bigger.
Milestones: We made it to 8 weeks! 2/3 of the way through the first trimester!
Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, tingly boobs, slight heartburn, pregnancy-induced insomnia, mood swings. Aren’t you jealous of my husband?!
Technical baby news:
Your baby is the size of a kidney bean, with visible retinas, ears and nose. A bulge of intestine is becoming the umbilical cord, and the little limbs are developing into their different parts. By now, many organs are beginning to function and the embryo can make sporadic movements.

{source}

Go, team Kidney Bean!

 

Leave a Reply

