This weekend

Because it’s Monday and I don’t want you to feel sorry for yourself about how there are still 4.5 days until the weekend, I want to tell you a little story to cheer you up!

While you were relaxing by the pool or going to a kick-ace BBQ, wanna know what I did this weekend?

Well, to start out, I got the sickness.  That’s right.  Morning sickness hit me like a ton of bricks on Sunday morning about 4:15.  Only, looking back now, I can’t decide if it was actually morning sickness or not.  I might have ended up with a mild case of food poisoning but I’m not sure when or how because nobody else in my family got sick and we haven’t been out to eat in a while.  Luckily, it stopped by mid-morning.

Then?!

Greg and I spent the rest of the day packing and moving!

In close-to-100°-heat!

That’s right!  After lots of thought and discussions, we are moving in with Greg’s parents for a few months and my sister is going to move into our house and rent from us.  (We are doing Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University and living with them/renting to my sis will allow us to pay several things off much quicker as well as save for a bigger house down the road.)  We are also in the process of getting a double-wide trailer pulled onto some of my father-in-law’s land for the time being and will, eventually, build a house there.

And when we move out onto the farm, we will have room outside to DO stuff.  The kids will have room to run and play.  The dogs will have acres (rather than a tiny lot in town) to run and play.  The house will be near(ish) the lake on the property so the kids can swim and fish.  We will have room to have their birthday parties at our house rather than begging somebody else to let us host at their house or having to rent somewhere to have the party.

Greg and I both grew up on farms and we really want that experience for our kids.

So.  We moved this weekend.  Into a place where we will be moving back out of in a few months.  And, yes it is with my in-laws (mine happen to be pretty amazing) but you know what?  I made dinner last night, my mother-in-law made desert (apple pie, ftw!) and she did the dishes!  Which?  Is basically what I want out of life.  I will cook all day long if somebody will come along behind me and do the dishes.  And my in-laws are being extraordinarily gracious about opening up their house to four extra people and helping us out during this transition.

And props to my amazeballs husband who basically packed up our entire house while I pissed and moaned about how yucky I felt and he never complained once.  In fact, he yelled at me because I picked up a box that he deemed “too heavy for the baby”.

I’m one very lucky lady.

4 thoughts on “This weekend

  1. Beautiful and courageous Tara. Don and I did Dave Ramsey five years ago and paid off $56,000.00 in debt. It was hard as bell, but SO worth it. Blessings to you all.

    • I would be FLOORED with 56K! In fact, 50K has been the number that has been bouncing around in my head for our 1st year goal. If we don’t hit it, I think we will get damn close!

  2. Don’t knock the double-wide, been there, done that. My sister used to sing Sammy Kershaw’s “Queen of My Double-Wide Trailer” to me all the time. Good luck with everything! Hope you don’t have morning sickness for long. We need to get together again soon!

    • “With the polyester curtains and the redwood deck . . . ”
      Haha, I know. I’m not knocking it. It will absolutely serve it’s purpose and I’m so thankful that I have amazing in-laws that can and will help us out.

      Yes! We need to get together soon! Before you have that baby! We can make the boys grill and we will sit in the living room with our feet propped up!

Leave a Reply

