9 Weeks

In addition to the regular weekly picture this week, you get to see part of my in-laws house!  And it’s everyone’s favorite room: the bathroom!

20120626-082303.jpg

I might have to either change my shirt or do something different with the shower curtain because it looks a bit like I’m against a green screen at the weather desk at the local news station.  (In case you never made that trip in 6th grade, my shirt is the same color as the background so I blend in too much.)  But I like taking my weekly pictures in the same shirt for comparison sake.  Maybe I will just open the shower curtain next week.

20120626-082315.jpg

I do believe that I’m beginning to sport a bit more of a pooch than previously!  Granted, the baby is only 1 inch long (the size of a grape!), so it might be from the delicious chicken parmesan leftovers that I ate last night at 9:30.  But still!  Definitely a little more rotund than I was at 8 weeks.

How far along? 9 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: I honestly have no idea at this point.  We haven’t moved our scale into the new place yet.  I’m guessing it’s pretty close to pre-pregnancy weight.  Even if I had gained a little, I lost most of it back with the bug/morning sickness (see below) that I had on Sunday morning.  Woof.
 Maternity clothes? Nope
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads
Sleep: It’s still pretty hit or miss. But now that we have a different bed, it might be better. Until I get so big I can’t sleep.
Best moment this week: Figuring out our living situation. And getting almost our entire house packed up and moved in a day.
Worst moment this week: See above. Also, Thursday and Friday of last week, right around noon, I got really hot, dizzy and nauseated. Unfortunately, I was in the middle of taking care of a patient so I couldn’t just walk away and sit down. But once I could, I sat down, ate lunch and drank a ton of water and felt better. Probably just a blood sugar issue but I hate feeling like that. And I thought I was finally dealing with morning sickness on Saturday but that’s the only day that I have thrown up (so far) but it was also paired with a word that rhymes with schmiarrhea so I’m not totally convinced it was from the baby.
Movement: Just gas so far. But I can’t wait to feel those first little flutters!
Food cravings/aversions: When I’m cooking it, the smell of red meat tends to make me want to gag but the flavor doesn’t bother me at all. So, if I’m not cooking the meat, I’m fine. I think Greg should just grill the rest of my pregnancy and I will be set!
Gender: Brock still wants a brother but Adrianna goes back and forth between brother and sister. As of right now, we are not going to find out the gender. But things may change between now and 20 weeks . . . And I’ve been having lots of “boy” vibes lately. But I was completely wrong with the other two kids so we will see.
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together in order to move again in order to eventually start saving to build a home.
What I am looking forward to: Feeling the baby move. Our next appointment with the doctor because we get another ultrasound (which is in one week!) Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: We made it to 9 weeks! Officially 2 months pregnant! (Hey! There aren’t a ton of milestones that we’ve hit yet so we are celebrating each one!)  The baby is officially considered a fetus now! Rather than an embryo like it was yesterday!  Oh, science!  You are so technical!
Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, tingly boobs, slight heartburn, vomitus aloticus (which might have been not related to the baby), mood swings. Aren’t you jealous of my husband?!
Technical baby news: The embryo’s 1 inch body begins to straighten up, while the arms and legs have grown long enough to cross in front. As the heart bulge grows further into the body, the intestinal bulge grows further out, thinning and lengthening the umbilical cord.
 

{source}

It’s starting to look like a person now!  No more alien baby!

Leave a Reply

