12/13 Weeks

So remember how I said last week that the baby was measuring almost a week big? Well, we went for a 1st trimester screening on Friday and the ultrasound tech officially changed my due date from January 29th to January 22nd because the baby was still measuring big. Despite the fact that I am 1000% sure about my last period, they went ahead and moved my due date to match the baby’s measurements. So basically I just skipped right over week 12 and moved on to week 13!
 
However, knowing me and how crazy I get toward the end of a pregnancy, I’m going to count weeks based on the baby’s size but mentally, I’m going to keep the January 29th due date. That way, if the baby comes “late” (aka: after the 22nd), I won’t freak the eff out starting on January 1st. Know what I mean?
 
Now, onto the good stuff!
 

20120718-073432.jpg

I’m officially unable to suck in the belly anymore!  And I know that I’m more bloated than actually showing but let’s just call it my body being prepared for what’s to come in the next few months.

How far along? 13 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: Down 2 lbs.
Maternity clothes? Nope but I wear scrubs at work so they are very forgiving. I did notice that I have a pair of shorts that are starting to get a little snug. But I’m not giving in just yet. I will be wearing plenty of elastic soon enough.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads. And Adrianna yelled at the baby last night for “scratching” me. I couldn’t figure out what she was talking about until I looked down and she was tracing one of my stretch marks with her finger. It never ceases to amaze me how the minds of children work!
Sleep: Meh. I sleep but I never really feel rested. I’m still having lots of weird dreams.
Best moment this week: Getting to see the baby’s heartbeat at the 1st trimester screen on Friday. And it was my birthday on Saturday!
Worst moment this week: Just the typical emotional rollercoaster that comes with pregnancy.
Movement: Nothing yet but I’m ready to feel all of the roundhouse kicks in my ute!
Food cravings/aversions: Poultry while it’s being cooked is pretty high on the aversion list right now. No cravings this week.
Gender: Brock still wants a brother and Adrianna is holding firm on a sister (right now). According to her, she already has a brother and needs a sister. I’m still feeling “girl” vibes right now but none of my friends/family that have a freakishly good track record of guessing genders will give up any info. As of right now, we are not going to find out the gender. But things may change between now and 20 weeks . . .
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together so we can move again and eventually start saving to build a home. Not having any morning sickness/dizziness at all this week!
What I am looking forward to: Feeling the baby move. Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: We made it to 13 weeks! 3 more days left of 1st trimester! Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, sore boobs. Aren’t you jealous of my husband?!
Technical baby news:

(For Week 12): The task of developing new bodily structures is nearing an end as most of your baby’s systems are fully formed. Now comes the maintenance phase, during which your fetus’ systems continue to mature for the next 28 weeks and the organs get to work.Your little fetus weighs as much as half an ounce now, and the crown-to-rump length is about two and a half inches (the size of a large plum). It’s hard to believe, but your baby has more than doubled in size during the past three weeks. And that’s just on the outside — there’s plenty going on inside too. The fetal digestive system is beginning to flex its digestive muscle — literally — as it starts practicing contraction movements, a skill your baby will need after birth to push food through the digestive tract. The pituitary gland at the base of the brain has started producing hormones. And the bone marrow is making white blood cells, which will one day help your baby fight infection.

 
(For Week 13): Besides being as large as a peach now, that big old noggin of hers is now about half the size of her crown-to-rump length (that’s one reason why your little peach looks more like an alien from outer space at this point). By the time you give birth, her body will catch up, measuring three-quarters of her total size. What else is going on in there? Tiny bones are beginning to form in her arms and legs, the intestines are beginning to move from the umbilical cord to the abdomen, and the vocal cords are well under construction. And because she can move her arms and legs in a jerky fashion, she may be able to get her thumb into her mouth (a habit that may come in handy for self-soothing when she’s a newborn).
 

20120718-081040.jpg

Leave a Reply

