14 Weeks

20120725-133644.jpg

Um, wow.  I realize that I haven’t pooped in 2 days and that this is my 3rd pregnancy but Jeeze O’Pete.  I’m getting pretty rotund already.

How far along? 14 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: Up 2 lbs from pre-pregnancy weight. But, as previously mentioned, I haven’t pooped for 2 days.
Maternity clothes? Nope but I wear scrubs at work so they are very forgiving. I did notice that I have a pair of shorts that are starting to get a little snug. But I’m not giving in just yet. I will be wearing plenty of elastic soon enough.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads.
Sleep: Meh. I sleep but I never really feel rested. I’m still having lots of weird dreams.
Best moment this week: Remembering how big my boobs get with pregnancy.
Worst moment this week: Remembering how big my boobs get with pregnancy.  Having a mild panic attack when I thought my hair straightener was broken this morning (hence, the ponytail in the above picture).
Movement: Nothing yet but I’m ready to feel all of the roundhouse kicks in my ute!
Food cravings/aversions: McDonald’s cheeseburgers with no pickles or onions are on the cravings list. So are avocados.
Gender: Brock still wants a brother and Adrianna is holding firm on a sister (right now). According to her, she already has a brother and needs a sister. I’m still feeling “girl” vibes right now but none of my friends/family that have a freakishly good track record of guessing genders will give up any info. As of right now, we are not going to find out the gender. But things may change between now and 20 weeks . . .
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together so we can move again and eventually start saving to build a home. That the double wide was moved yesterday and we are one step closer to getting that project done!
What I am looking forward to: Feeling the baby move. Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: We’ve officially entered the 2nd trimester!
Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, sore boobs. Aren’t you jealous of my husband?!
Technical baby news: At around four inches long (9 cm or so), Baby is the size of your fist and weighs about an ounce. Her little body is continuing to unfold, and her chin no longer rests on her chest. Her reflexes are becoming smooth and regular, too: she can bend, flex, kick and recoil from pressure and sounds, although it’s still a bit early to feel any of her movements. The eyes and ears of a 14 week old fetus have moved into their appropriate positions, though they still have a lot of developing to do. She may even have a wisp of hair on her head by now!  Your placenta is almost fully functioning, and it continues to provide oxygen and nutrition to the developing fetus at 14 weeks through the umbilical cord. However, your baby-to-be is actively exercising the abilities she’ll need as soon as she leaves the womb: her lungs are practicing breathing movements in preparation for the big day, although they’re taking in amniotic fluidinstead of air right now.

{source}

Leave a Reply

