15 Weeks

20120801-170705.jpg

Oh, hai.  Please take my towel-wrapped hair as proof that I showered.  Because I totally did.
 
How far along? 15 weeks, 2 days (better late than never!)
Total weight gain/loss: Holding steady at +2 lbs from pre-pregnancy weight.
Maternity clothes? I had to cave this weekend and wear a pair of maternity shorts. They are just so much more comfy at this point that regular shorts. Most of my non-maternity shirts still work but I will be lucky if I can make it through the summer without making the complete switch.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads.
Sleep: Meh. I sleep but I never really feel rested. I literally feel like I could wake up after 8 hours of sleep and take a nap.
Best moment(s) this week: Finding out that one of my favorite cousins is also pregnant!! On that side of the family, my cousin’s fiance is due in December, I’m due in January and my cousin is due in February! Yippee!! Babies all around!! 
Hearing the baby’s heartbeat at the OB’s office (a strong 159!)
Worst moment this week: Um, not too much!
Movement: Nothing yet but I’m ready to feel all of the roundhouse kicks in my ute! 
And speaking of that, I think it’s a little odd that I haven’t felt anything yet.  By 16 weeks with Brock, Greg could feel him kick and I could feel flutters with Adrianna at 12 weeks.  My placenta isn’t anterior (in the front-aka blocking movement) because I had them check during the last ultrasound so I don’t know what’s up.  My OB thinks I might end up with a mellow kid this time around.  ::snort::  I don’t make mellow babies.  It’s like she doesn’t know me at all.
Food cravings/aversions: McDonald’s cheeseburgers with no pickles or onions are on the cravings list. So are avocados.
Gender: Team ‘Gender Neutral Colors’!
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together so we can move again and eventually start saving to build a home. That the double wide was moved on Monday (and we got water out there yesterday!!) and we are one step closer to getting that project done!
What I am looking forward to: Feeling the baby move. Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: We’ve officially entered the 2nd trimester!
Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, sore boobs. Technical baby news:  Baby’s gaining weight fast! At around 1 ¾ ounces, he’s nearly doubled in weight since last week, and ultrasound pictures at 15 weeks would show that he’s now the size of an orange (around 4 ½ inches or 10.5 cm). His thin skin shows a web of blood vessels stretching across his body and he may be testing his recently developed reflexes by sucking his thumb. The eyes are now on the front of the face as the retinas develop under the paper thin skin, but they’re still very wide apart. Lanugo, the extra fine hair that regulates your baby’s body temperature, is starting to cover his body and his tiny eyebrows are becoming defined.Inside his little body, Baby’s bones are hardening and lengthening. The tiny bones of the inner ear have begun to harden, but his hearing is too rudimentary for him to understand any sound. Limbs of a 15 week old fetus are growing longer and bones are retaining more calcium, and so you would be able to see baby’s skeleton with an X-ray this week!

20120802-134027.jpg

{source}

One thought on “15 Weeks

Leave a Reply

