16 Weeks

20120809-062715.jpg

With the blue shirt in the mostly blue bathroom (from previous pictures), I kept blending in.  So this week, I changed it up!  This is a picture taken in the downstairs bathroom.  Sorry about the glare on the bottom of the mirror frame.  But, I did clean the mirror before I took the picture so basically?  It all worked out in the end.

How far along? 16 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: +3 lbs from pre-pregnancy weight.
Maternity clothes? For the bottom half. I’m still holding on and making most of my non-maternity tops work.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads.
Sleep: Meh. I sleep but I never really feel rested. I literally feel like I could wake up after 8 hours of sleep and take a nap.
Best moment this week: Feeling those tiny little flutters for the first time!
Worst moment this week: Really not too much.  We have been very blessed.
Movement: I finally started feeling flutters this weekend!!! Very light and few and far between but there were there! Now I can’t wait for Greg and the kids to be able to feel them!
Food cravings/aversions: Chocolate milk is on the cravings list.  The only aversion that I’m having is meat while it’s being cooked.  I don’t mind the taste so long as I don’t have to cook it!
Gender: Team ‘Gender Neutral Colors’!
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together so we can move again and eventually start saving to build a home.
What I am looking forward to: Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: We’ve officially entered the 2nd trimester!
Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news: The baby weighs about 3 ounces (the size of an avocado) and measures around 4.5 inches (11 cm) from crown to rump. Although baby is still pretty small, some big physical changes are underway: fine hair called lanugo covers the head and body now, the fingernails have formed, the ears have moved to the head and the kidneys and stomach are beginning to function. The baby can now open and close her mouth, suck her thumb and move around. All of her muscles are gaining strength, so she’s starting to make facial expressions, too. Essentially, this is the point of independent movement, a big step on the path to development and the most obvious reminder of how fast a new life is growing inside of you.

20120809-062720.jpg

Leave a Reply

