18 Weeks

20120823-150419.jpg

I actually did my hair in this picture!  But I decided to off-set it by making an effed up face.  Life is all about balance.
 
**2 random things to note that didn’t otherwise fit in this post.  1) I have only gained 5 pounds so far and no, I’m not starving myself.  I don’t anticipate that this will continue this slowly over the next few months.  2) If I were pregnant with twins (I’m not, by the way), I would be at the halfway mark.  ZOMG!  I’m almost HALFWAY through this pregnancy.  Double you.  Tee.  Eff.
 
How far along? 18 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: +5 lbs from pre-pregnancy weight.
Maternity clothes? For the bottom half. I’m still holding on and making most of my non-maternity tops work.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads.
Sleep: This week has actually been bearable. Nothing has really changed but I’m feeling less exhausted so that’s good!
Best moment this week: Feeling more and more movement! Getting the results of our amniocentesis back and finding out that it was normal (I’m working on a separate post for that).
Worst moment this week: Really not too much. We have been very blessed.
Movement: I finally started feeling flutters last weekend!!! Very light and few and far between but there were there! Now I can’t wait for Greg and the kids to be able to feel them!
Food cravings/aversions: Chocolate milk is on the cravings list even though chocolate is starting to give me wicked bad heartburn. The only aversion that I’m having is meat while it’s being cooked. I don’t mind the taste so long as I don’t have to cook it!
Gender: Team ‘Gender Neutral Colors’!
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together so we can move again and eventually start saving to build a home. That this baby is healthy.
What I am looking forward to: Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks. Our morphology ultrasound (the BIG one) on Tuesday!
Milestones: Movement!
Symptoms: shedding hair, weird dreams, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news: An 18 week fetus measures between 5 and 5¾ inches (12.5 to 14 cm)long and weighs around 5 ¼ ounces, which makes the baby about the size of a red onion. Bones are strengthening and hardening, fat is accumulating under the skin and the muscles are working well. The placenta is now fully functional, and provides all of the nutrients and oxygen that your baby needs.

Although baby’s rapid growth phase has come to an end, his most active phase in the womb has just begun. Baby’s somersaults and stretching help him to build motor skills, and together with his developing sense of hearing, will also help him begin to understand his environment. While kicks, grabs and acrobatics make up a good part of his day, plenty of energy is still devoted to his development: tiny air sacs called alveoliare forming in the lungs, and if your baby is a boy, his prostate gland is also forming. If your baby is a girl, her uterus and ovaries have already formed. On the outside, the pads of the fingers and toes are beginning to show your baby’s unique fingerprint pattern.

{source}

20120823-150454.jpg

Leave a Reply

