19 Weeks

20120831-081331.jpg

Isn’t this the cutest baby you have ever seen?!?!  I thought so!

Oh, in other news!  My husband couldn’t wait to find out (like anybody is surprised by that).  So we are happy to announce that I have a penis inside me!!  Translation: It’s a BOY!!!  Brock is thrilled; Adrianna is devastated.  And I know that “they” say time heals all wounds, but “they” have never met my daughter and lemme tell you, she can carry one helluva grudge.
20120831-081241.jpg

Apparently taking pictures with my phone is scary.
 
(I’m not sure why I always feel the need to provide commentary on my pictures, but I do.) 
 
How far along? 19 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 6 lbs. Um, I realize that up 6 lbs at nearly the halfway mark doesn’t sound like much but the last month, I’ve steadily gained 1 lb/week. If that trends continues, I will have packed on nearly 30 pounds. And, yeah, I know I’m growing a baby and stuff but I’m pretty sure I’m not going to deliver a 30-lb baby.  An 8lb baby and 22lb boobs would be alright though!  But not really.  I wouldn’t like that either.  ::sigh::
Maternity clothes? All the way in bottoms (except for workout clothes/scrubs but those have plenty of elastic). Most of my tops still work for now but I’m going to have Greg haul all of my maternity clothes out of storage this weekend.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads.
Sleep: Status quo. I’m tired but not exhausted.
Best moment this week: This week I actually felt the baby kick from the outside (my hand was on my belly where he happened to kick)! It shouldn’t be too much longer before everybody else can feel the movement as well! And a few nights ago Adrianna was sitting on my lap and she kept re-adjusting and bouncing on the baby. Apparently there is a little more fiesty-ness in this one than I originally thought because he kept kicking her right back. Not strong enough for her to feel, but the baby would kick every time she would bounce.
Worst moment this week: Having somebody tell me that my blog was boring. Haha! But seriously? We haven’t had too many bad things going on.
Movement: Getting more and more frequent every week!
Food cravings/aversions: Not too many aversions but I’m so hungry. I’ve already eaten 3 times today.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That my wonderful and gracious in-laws let us move into their basement while we get some things together so we can move again and eventually start saving to build a home. That this baby is healthy. That the weird dreams have stopped.
What I am looking forward to: Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: Movement! Next week is the halfway point. Ohmahgaw.
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news: This week the baby is between 5 ½ and 6 inches (14 to 15 cm) long from crown to rump (about the size of an artichoke! Yum! I love ‘chokes & cheese dip!!!). Pictures of a 19 week fetus would reveal defined facial features and a miniature human form. Even though the baby is recognizably human now, he still has a long way to grow. His little 7 ounce body, now covered in lanugo, is secreting a white greasy substance called vernix caseosa that forms a waterproof layer to protect baby’s skin from the amniotic fluid. This coating will stay with your baby through most of the pregnancy, beginning to dissipate as delivery approaches.  A 19 week fetus is producing an important coating inside her body, too. A substance called myelin is beginning to cover the nerves, which will help them exchange information quickly to coordinate body movement. Newborns tend to move with jerks and uncoordinated reflexes, but the increasing amount of myelin will help to refine their reactions and control muscle movements as they grow. All of baby’s senses are maturing now, and her body is producing fluids like gastric juices and urine, which are harmlessly excreted into the amniotic fluid.

20120828-141911.jpg

2 thoughts on “19 Weeks

Leave a Reply

