20 weeks

20120904-055241.jpg

Tired doesn’t even begin to describe the face in this picture. We have been moving/unpacking all weekend plus my allergies decided to attack me yesterday so I slept about 2 hours last night.
 
How far along? 20 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 8 lbs. 2 lbs in one week is no bueno but we’ve also been eating like crapola because of the move. And I haven’t pooped in 2 days. Hopefully it will level back out over the next few weeks.
Maternity clothes? All the way in bottoms (except for workout clothes/scrubs but those have plenty of elastic). Most of my tops still work for now but I’m going to have Greg haul all of my maternity clothes out of storage soon.
Stretch marks? From the previous knuckleheads.
Sleep: See above. So exhausted I feel physically ill today. As long as I get some sleep tonight, I am hoping that I will feel better tomorrow.
Best moment this week: Just lots and lots of movement! And Adrianna is becoming indifferent (which is better than hating) toward the idea of another brother. So, progress?
Getting almost everything moved in. And by almost everything, I mean we have enough stuff in the house that it’s live-able. But I have to do the dishes after every meal because we only have 4 forks and 1 butter knife until we find the box with our utensils.
Worst moment this week: Just the joys of moving and unpacking! But baby wise? Everything is peachy.
Movement: Getting more and more frequent and especially at night. Homeboy likes to hold 9pm raves. BYOB.
Food cravings/aversions: Not too many aversions but I’m so hungry. Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That we are (mostly) moved into the new place and can start to make it our own. That this baby is healthy. That the weird dreams have stopped.
What I am looking forward to: Watching the kids’ reaction to the baby’s kicks.
Milestones: Um, hai. Can I just have a few moments to freak the freak out because I’M HALFWAY TO BEING A MOTHER OF THREE! ZOMG! ASDFGHJKL!!! Most days I’m in denial about how we are now crossing over the halfway mark because NOTHING is done in his room. However, I also know that we still have 20-ish weeks to prepare and all of the prep work that I did for the other two meant nothing because they always have their own agendas once they make their grand entrance. We do have a new carseat (our other one expired) and a glider. But his clothes (hand-me-down’s from his big brother) haven’t been gone through, we don’t have our crib back from our friends that borrowed it when their baby was born, we need to get another dresser in his nursery that will double as the changing table, yada, yada, yada. I really need to make a to-do list but right now? I’d rather just take a nap.
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news: Weighing in at 9 ounces, your baby is going through another growth spurt: limbs are getting longer, the skeleton is hardening and the various nerve centers of his brain are becoming distinct. In fact, a very important stage of nerve development begins right around now, as fetal sensesbecome sophisticated enough for her to recognize her environment and your voice. Talking to your little one every day will develop your bond well before you get to meet each other in person!Your baby is between 5 ½ and 6 ½ inches (or 14 to 16 cm) from his crown to rump this week (10 inches from head to heel), which is around the size of a mango. The organs, bones and tissues of a 20 week old fetus are in their proper places. Vernix caseosa (the thick white substance that’s secreted through the skin) covers his body, and he’s breathing in amniotic fluid as he practices for life outside the womb.

20120904-144850.jpg

Leave a Reply

