25 Weeks

20121009-085544.jpg

How far along? 25 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: +12 lbs
Maternity clothes? Almost completely. Some non-maternity shirts still work but it’s getting close to being a full-time thing.
Stretch marks? Back with a vengeance.
Sleep: Some days are better than others.
Best moment this week: Brock has always been thrilled that he was getting a brother, but Adrianna was indifferent on a good day. Yesterday, she hugged and kissed my belly and said how much she loved her baby brother! Granted, she might change her mind when he gets here and she gets less attention, but for now? I’m calling it a win!
Worst moment this week: Realizing that I can no longer run from sciatic nerve pain or near-vomit inducing heartburn. But I just got the okay from my OB to start taking Zantac and will be making an after-work run to Wal-Mart to pick some up.
Movement: All the time. I love feeling all of his kicks and jabs and somersaults!
Food cravings/aversions: Cravings = chicken strips from McDonald’s with ranch dressing and KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. No aversions this week.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That we are (mostly) moved into the new place and can start to make it our own. That this baby is healthy. That we made some headway in getting the nursery cleaned out!
What I am looking forward to: Seeing my two outside babies see their baby brother for the first time. It hit me this weekend that Brock is just a smidge older than I was when my sister was born and it was one of my earliest memories. I couldn’t WAIT for mom and dad to let me hold her (supervised, sitting on the couch of course) for the first time and I can’t wait to experience that through Brock and Adrianna’s eyes.
Milestones: We got part of the nursery cleaned out this weekend! And? I started sorting through Brock’s baby clothes. So far Baby Tres has about 10 onsies and 30 bibs. Obviously I still have a ways to go but progress is progress!
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly, sciatic nerve pain. I also have all of these weird baby hairs that have popped up along my hairline that I can’t do a thing with. It looks like I have 3-4 cowlicks. I would gel my hair down but I don’t want it to look any more greasy than it already is.
Technical baby news: Weighing in at a whopping 1 ½ pounds, your baby is gaining strength with each passing day. A 25 week old fetus measures around 8 ¾ inches from crown to rump, or 13 ½ inches from crown to heel, and his body is straightening as the components of his spine begin to develop. He may have had a slim chance of surviving outside the womb at 23 weeks, but he has a much better chance now: the blood vessels in his lungs have developed enough to help them take in air, and he is one step closer to breathing naturally now that his nostrils have opened. An ultrasound at 25 weeks would show that your baby can grab and hold his feet, hands and even the umbilical cord (which is nothing to worry about, since it’s too thick and strong to pinch or damage). Muscle control is much better now, and baby’s developing nerves allow him to react more quickly. The increasing sensitivity around his mouth is particularly important, as he’ll need those nerves to find his mother’s nipple after he’s born. But even though the skin (which is still covered in lanugo and vernix caseosa) is becoming more sensitive, it’s still thin and wrinkled because your baby has not yet built up much fat. Give it a few more weeks, and those wrinkles will begin to smooth out as your little one puts on weight.

20121009-141003.jpg

Leave a Reply

