Instagram is the reason I haven’t used my DSLR in months

This is a picture that I took of my 25 week belly with my iPhone:

20121009-100017.jpg

Yuck!  Dark and you can see the top of my bottle of mouthwash (which, yes I could have cropped out but this is a picture from my phone and I was being lazy).

And this is after I applied a filter using Instagram:

20121009-100022.jpg

SO!  MUCH!  BETTER!!  Much lighter so you don’t have to squint to see my bump, the mouthwash is gone (although, it is a good reminder for oral hygiene) and I love that you can add various filters to make it look warmer or black and white or soften the look or make it modern, etc.

Basically? I haven’t used my DSLR in months because my 1) phone is always with me anyway, 2) it’s one less thing to keep track of and 3) Instagram is FREE and super easy to use.  AND!  You can get it on both the Droid and iPhone network!

I’m sure that when Baby Tres arrives, I will bust out my wonderful big-girl camera to capture every exhilarating yawn and coo that newborns are famous for and I’m kinda thinking that would be a great time to re-commit myself to actually learning how to use my fancy camera (like, be brave and turn off auto and shoot on manual and, I dunno, actually learn what shutter speeds mean) but for now?

Instagram is my new boyfriend and he sends me flowers and chocolates every day and I love him.

One thought on “Instagram is the reason I haven’t used my DSLR in months

  1. Pingback: How to watermark your photos « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

