#90. *Encourage someone to start a 101 things in 1001 days list

Click here to see my 101 things in 2002 days list

This is one of the items that even though I can’t take a picture of it, I’m still very excited about it!  A little background story in lieu of a picture though, okay?  Okay.  Way back when I first found out I was pregnant with Adrianna I was looking online for a pregnancy website with tips, etc.  Even though I already had a child I was looking for something to do at work during the down time and honestly I was afraid I would fall asleep if I tried to read What to Expect When You’re Expecting at 2am.  During my google search, I happened to come across a website called TheBump (as in baby bump for those that aren’t familiar).  As it turns out, this website had far more to offer me than simple advice forums and pre-baby to-do lists.  I found a wonderful group of women that were also pregnant and we have formed a bond that has spanned not only nearly a year (wow!) but many miles.  We are spread from Philly to California and we even have one way up in Alaska!  The name of our group is The Muumuu Mama’s (kind of like the Ya-Ya sisterhood but with less booze and more all-around coolness).

There are variable stories to how our name came about but the basics are as we all got bigger we joked about how the only item of clothing we could think of that was comfortable was a Muumuu.   Somebody found a hideous yellow muumuu FOR SALE on eBay for something ridiculous like a dollar (that is no joke.  It may have been a dollar and some change, but seriously?  Why even bother?)  And, here we are.  The oldest Numuu (our name for our babies; think *new*muu) is already 4 months old and the youngest has yet to make her arrival.  Through all of the ups and downs of pregnancy, new marriages, fights with spouses, births of our beautiful children, the loss of jobs, new jobs, discussions about sore boobs, postpartum depression, and several interesting conversations about a “rival” group on the forum, we have become very close friends.  So close in fact that we are planning a trip to Las Vegas (where one of our Muumuu’s lives!) next summer.

So that brings the story to the present.  I had posted my idea for this list on my other blog asking for ideas to finish out the list and one of my Muumuu friends, Darlene, read it and gave me TONS of ideas (thank you so much, by the way!) to get to the magic number of 101.  Then she decided to take it one step further and since she had already come up with so many ideas of her own, she decided to start her own “101 things in 1001 days” list!  Even though I didn’t come up with this idea (well I blatantly stole it, actually) I am so glad that she felt inspired enough to start her own list!

Just for your viewing pleasure, here is the muumuu that started it all:

Don’t judge us.  You know you want one!

Leave a Reply

