27 Weeks

20121023-083056.jpg

How far along? 27 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 20 lbs. Okay, funny story here. This weekend, our scale stopped working. So I had Greg change the batteries and guess what?! It was under-weighing me by a few pounds. Yay! //sarcasm font// I have no idea when it started but it now matches the weight recorded at my OB’s office.
Maternity clothes? Just like Vegas, baby. We are all in.
Stretch marks? Back with a vengeance.
Sleep: Some days are better than others. I am beginning to notice that it’s harder for me to sleep on my left side. Weird.
Best moment this week: Adrianna telling me that she loved the baby. Not tolerated. Not feeling indifferent toward. She actually used the word “love”. This was a big step for her. She will probably feel differently once he arrives and takes up more attention. But, for now I’m living in a blissful, yet slightly distorted version of reality.
Worst moment this week: This really hasn’t been too bad of a week. It’s just (re)learning my limits and understanding that I can’t push myself like I used to. I have to remember to stop and take lots of breaks because I get winded, a back ache, a Braxton hicks contraction, heartburn, etc. That has been one of the most frustrating parts of this pregnancy.
Movement: All the time, especially at night. It seems like he wakes up between 9-9:30 and his movements are getting so big we can see them (rather than just feel little nudges) all the time. I love feeling all of his kicks and jabs and somersaults!
Food cravings/aversions: I’m hungry all.the.time. Pretty much everything sounds good to me. Right now I’m eating a breakfast burrito. After I already ate a bagel on the way to work as well as a Reese’s peanut butter cup. It’s not quite 9am, people.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That we found all of the newborn and 0-3 month clothes that we thought were missing! Yay for more tiny laundry!
What I am looking forward to: Getting all of his laundry washed/dried/folded/put away. Refer to the previous question.
Milestones: We officially hit 3rd trimester this week! And, in much less exciting news, my glucose tolerance test is today.
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news: At 9 ½ inches from crown to rump (14 inches from crown to heel) and 2 pounds heavy, your baby is finally plumping up more than he’s growing in length. The lungs are maturing rapidly from all that inhaling and exhaling he’s been doing, and in turn, a 27 week fetus has a far better chance of surviving outside the womb than a fetus born just two weeks earlier. Along with better lung function, the brain is becoming more sophisticated and muscles are strengthening, making for more distinct phases of movement. But don’t expect kicks and somersaults all the time; remember that your baby’s sleeping patterns are forming, so there will be stretches where you don’t notice much movement at all and other very active times of the day.
This week brings another big milestone: the initial stage of sight. Your baby will finally open his eyes at 27 weeks pregnant, and his retinas are developing the layers that receive light and transmit it to the brain. In fact, a flashlight shone against your belly can coax the baby to move toward the bright spot (though some babies may move away from the light). To top off this important eye development, your baby now has a full set of eyelashes to sweep away any dirt or irritants that get in their way once he greets the outside world.

20121022-100152.jpg

Leave a Reply

