You’re ruining it for everybody! NaBloPoMo 11.14.12

NaBloPoMo November 2012

A couple of weeks ago, I was chatting with a friend of mine that just had her fifth child.  I was asking her how things were going and she just laughed and said, “Five isn’t that different from four and four isn’t that different from three.  Once you get outnumbered, it doesn’t really make too much of a difference!”

We talked about my fears about going from two to three and how she felt the same way just before their third child was born.

We laughed about birth order and how my two are so similar to her two oldest in their behaviors.

But then we started talking about one of the downsides to having more than two children.

When her youngest was just a couple of months old, she and her sister were shopping.  They had the baby in the stroller so they got on the elevators along with an older woman.  My friend said that the lady looked at the baby and asked if it was her first.  When my friend replied, “Nope.  This is our fifth.”  The lady’s mouth dropped open and she said, “Wow!  You must be nuts!”

Huh?

When did it become okay to be such a butt-head?  I know that sometimes people are awkward and don’t really know what to say but calling somebody crazy for having what they consider too many kids?  Not cool.

We also talked about a friend of her’s that had 3 kids and was told that she was “ruining it for everybody”.

Double you.  Tee.  Eff.  What in the hell are people thinking by saying things like that?

I’m sure that, at one point in my life, I though that people who had that many kids were nuts, too.  However, I was probably much closer to the age of 16 and the idea of having kids was as appealing as sticking my hand in a meat grinder.  But it never would have occurred to me to say that out loud to the parent.

This post doesn’t really have a point other than to be nice to each other and for the love of Anderson Cooper, don’t call out a new parent for their parenting choices unless it’s along the lines of Michael Jackson hanging Blanket off a balcony, m’kay?

Leave a Reply

