31 Weeks


20121120-082506.jpg

If the boy in my womb owns my heart like the boy in this picture, I’m in big trouble.
How far along? 31 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 23ish lbs.  I forgot to weigh myself this morning but I was pretty close to that this weekend.
Maternity clothes? Yup.  And some of those are starting to not fit . . .
Stretch marks? Yeabsolutely.
Sleep: Some days are better than others.  The last few nights have been great!  Last week was a total disaster in the sleep department.
Best moment this week: Getting all of our cloth diapers washed, folded and put away.
Worst moment this week: Nothing in particular.  But I am starting to really feel how heavy I’m/he’s getting.  By 8pm, I’m totally done for the day and all I can do is sit on the couch and put my feet up.  Which?  Sounds great but in theory, never actually works out.
Movement: All the time. I love feeling all of his kicks and jabs and somersaults!
Food cravings/aversions: Nothing to report in this department.  But, in other food related news, I am noticing how easy it is for me to get full.  So I am snacking much more.  If I could just remind myself to snack on veggies instead of cookies, I’d be in good shape!
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That this baby is healthy.
What I am looking forward to: Picking a name for this baby!  Getting his nursery ready.
Milestones: This isn’t a biggie but I’ve officially reached the point where I have less time left in this pregnancy than I will have off for maternity leave.  Hold me closer, Tony Danza.  And!  We have officially reached the stage where he gets hiccups that are strong enough to not only feel but they also make my belly move.
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, huge boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly, sciatic nerve pain, insomnia/narcolepsy, back pain, hip pain, leg pain.  You get the idea.
Technical baby news: Your baby weighs about 3 ½ pounds and measures just over 11 inches (28 cm) from his crown to his rump. Although he’s all curled up in his amniotic home, an ultrasound technician can often tell just how long your 31 week fetus measures from head to heel (he’s probably hovering around 16 inches by now). You can expect his body and limbs to keep lengthening as you move through your final trimester, but most of his energy is now devoted to fat accumulation. At this point, baby’s lungs may be mature enough to let him breathe on his own outside the womb, but it will do him a world of good to sit tight for a few more weeks.  The eyes can see, blink and move now, but baby’s true eye color won’t show up for several months because she needs natural light to complete the development process. However, the light that does filter through the walls of your uterus will cause baby’s pupils to dilate now, and he’s beginning to close his eyes for sleep and keep them open during his waking hours. In fact, your baby’s sleep patterns are becoming more regular, and if his active time happens to be your bedtime, he may be contributing to your insomnia.

20121031-162109.jpg

Leave a Reply

