33 Weeks


20121204-081432.jpg

How far along? 33 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 28 lbs; most of which has landed on my face/neck.  Send halp.  And cookies.
Maternity clothes? Yup.  Some of which I’m outgrowing.  Ahem.
Stretch marks? Yeabsolutely.
Sleep: Some days are better than others.  The nights that I fall asleep on the couch at 8pm are guaranteed to be nights that I’m up/down all night long.  If I can hold out until at least 9:30pm, then I tend to get a much better night sleep.  Assuming that I don’t have any Braxton Hicks contracts in the night.
Best moment this week: All of the gorgeous weather that we’ve been having!
Worst moment this week: Finding out that our dental insurance sucks a big one.  Adrianna telling me that I have a “vewy fat tummy, Momma”.  Thanks, kiddo.
Movement: All the time. I love feeling all of his kicks and jabs and somersaults!  And he gets the hiccups on the regular which make me laugh because either they scare him or he gets mad because after each hiccup, I will get a little kick/punch.
Food cravings/aversions: Ice chips. They HAVE to be small enough for me to crunch. It’s not pica, but I love getting crushed ice as often as I can lately! Also: grapes, bananas and apples. A far cry from Mt. Dew from last week.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.
Belly Button in or out? Most definitely in but it’s getting more and more shallow each week.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That this baby is healthy.
What I am looking forward to: Getting maternity pictures taken this weekend!  Naming this child.  We are getting closer and closer to narrowing it down.  I think.
Milestones: Nothing major this week but next week is the magic number where if I go into labor on my own (ha!), my doctor won’t do anything to stop it.  Hold me closer, Tony Danza.
Symptoms: shedding hair, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news:Your baby is about 12 inches from crown to rump (17 inches from crown to heel), and weighs over 4 pounds. Your amniotic fluid has reached its highest level — about 2 pints — and from here on out, it will begin to decrease until your delivery. Since baby is growing at a much faster rate than your uterus, conditions are getting cramped and his sharp kicks and punches may give way to rolls and wiggles. Inside his body, organ growth is in full swing and now his lungs are almost ready for the outside world.  As fat continues to accumulate, your baby’s skin is turning from red to pink and his little limbs are more smooth and rounded now. His remarkable brain growth has pushed the skull out, increasing the size of your baby’s head, and you may be getting painful reminders of that growth.  At week 33, he may be moving into the preferred fetal position by now, with his head pointing down to your pelvis and his rump and legs around your ribs. If he hasn’t turned yet, don’t worry too much: babies often turn themselves at some point leading up to the birth, and if they don’t, your doctor may be able to encourage him to flip.

20121120-160753.jpg

Leave a Reply

