Making a (baby) list and checking it twice

Nothing makes my OCD heart go pitter-patter quite like checking things off of a to-do list.  Unfortunately, the procrastinator in me puts off actually making that list until the very last-minute and then I’m all, “WHY do I do this to myself every freaking time?!” 

It’s all very woe is me and dramatic.

So, I’m going to attempt to marry up those two conflicting tendencies and make our baby to-do list with 6 weeks and 4 days until my due date.  The OCD side of me is spouting off the list quicker than I can type them out.  The procrastinator is taking a nap.

  • Buy new car seats (our old ones have expired) that match.  Yes, they have to match because having the same base is an absolute necessity for us.  We already have one that we got from Target because it was on sale PLUS we got a $10 gift card for spending $50 so it was a win-win.  Now I just have to get back to Target to buy the second one.
  • Get the crib (this is on the agenda for this weekend) back from our friends.  When they got pregnant with their surprise baby, we offered to let them borrow our crib because Adrianna was old enough to transition into a twin bed and they had given all of their stuff away because they were “done” having babies.  Now their little girl is 18 months old and since our little one is mere 6ish weeks away, the crib is moving again.
  • Get the second dresser for the nursery. Greg bought a dresser from some (other) friends of ours over a year ago and never picked it up.  Now that we need more space for Baby Tres’ clothes, we are finally going to get it out of their house!  I’m sure they will be thrilled to have the extra furniture out of their space and we will be thrilled to have somewhere to put the 5 million newborn onesies that we have stacked up in piles.
  • Name this child.  Every time we think we are getting close to picking a name, we both end up hating our list and starting completely over.  It doesn’t help that Brock and Adrianna want to contribute names like Alvin and The Chipmunks and Jellybean.
  • Beef up our cloth diaper supply.  We have several that we used with Adrianna and I (very shrewdly) ordered only gender neutral colors because, while pink and purple flowers are to DIE for on a girls’ tooshie, I knew that Greg would have a conniption if I tried to cloth diaper any future male children in flowers.  And, my very talented mother made us a tremendous supply of bamboo liners but I need more covers/shells.  The problem is?  I’m super picky about which kinds I will use and they are a bit pricey.  But.  They last from birth to potty so they are worth the investment.  I just have to watch e-Bay like a hawk for good deals and it takes some time.
  • Re-paint the nursery.  When we moved in, we knew that re-decorating was going to be something that we wanted to do eventually but paying off a 28% interest credit card is more important than having the perfect decor, know what I mean?  So, for now we are stuck with 90’s-themed floral wall paper in every room.  Most of the rooms can be overlooked but I would really like to do something a little different in the nursery.  But if I’m being honest?  This is at the complete bottom of the list because I need to be practical and Baby Tres isn’t going to care if his room has flowers on the wall.  For now, anyway.
  • Take maternity pictures.  That will be done this weekend and I can’t wait!  Yay!  A good friend of mine is doing them and she’s a genius and I’m sure they will be fabulous!
  • Get out the breast pump and wash/sterilize all of the equipment.  Yes, I did that before I packed it away the last time, but it has sat in storage for almost 3 years and it needs to be done.
  • Take the kids to a big-kid class.  The hospital where I will deliver offers them for free and I think it would be good for the kids.  Brock has done this once before but he was 23 months old when Adrianna was born and I’m sure he doesn’t remember what it’s like with a newborn in the house.  Adrianna has no clue what’s about to hit her and all the prep we can get in, the better.
  • Make freezer meals.  I make a mean lasagna and my mother-in-law gave me a yummy recipe for homemade chicken pot pie casserole that I’m going to make ahead and freeze so when we have days where all I’ve done is keep us alive, we can all still eat supper.  In addition to the lasagna and chicken pot pie casserole, I’m looking for other options that freeze beautifully.  I love to cook but I’m also not blind to the fact that after this baby is born, I may not get to shower for multiple days in a row.
  • Get the kids a (small) gift “from” their baby brother.  A few co-workers of mine threw me a baby sprinkle (it’s smaller than a shower, so it’s a sprinkle!) when I was pregnant with Adrianna and they were so thoughtful and bought little gifts for Brock as well.  He got a Nerf football and a few Handy Manny tools that he loved.  It not only gave him something to do in the hospital, but because it was “from” Sissy, he didn’t feel as slighted when she got all of the attention.
  • Pack a hospital bag.  Bring the back-up battery for the camera.  Don’t forget laptop, comfy undies and my favorite snacks. 
  • Buy a new boppy cover.  We only have one that has survived both kids and storage off/on for 5 years so we need a backup.
  • Find our diaper bag and pack it.  I’m not too worried about this one because we won’t use binkies at first, we will use the disposable diapers from the hospital until we get home and can cloth diaper and we will get his coming-home outfit sorted out.  But still.  I feel like this should be on the list.
  • Organize the nursery.  Most of this will happen once we get the last of the furniture in there but it’s making me a little crazy when there are craft supplies for the kids and a bow-and-arrow sitting on the floor.  The nursery because a catch-all when we moved in and it’s time to clean.it.up.
  • Buy at least 1 bottle of infant Tylenol and Motrin.  The last thing that I want to do if he runs a fever is make a mad dash to Wal-Mart with a screaming baby.
  • Sort out childcare.  Our wonderful babysitter can’t keep this kiddo until sometime in the summer (July-ish) so that means that we have a 3-month gap from when I go back to work until we have full-time childcare for him.  If you are local and have suggestions, hit me up.
  • Plan something for Greg.  Most often, Dad’s get overlooked in the birthing/newborn process and I know I was guilty of it the first 2 times.  But, it’s just as important for me to let Greg know that it’s okay to take a break and do something for himself as it is for him to reciprocate.
  • Come up with a plan (and a few alternate back-up plans) for when the big day arrives.  Since Brock still very much wants to be a part of the process, we need to have a system in place where we can get him to the hospital.  That’s assuming that I go into labor somewhere other than home.  If my water breaks in the middle of the night (like it did with Brock), we need somebody to come over and stay with Adrianna.  I don’t want to deal with her being Judy-Attitudy in the middle of the night while I’m in labor.  And if we have to take her somewhere, that means one more stop before we get to the hospital.  If the big moment happens during the week while the kids are at the babysitter’s house, somebody will have to pick Brock up and meet us at the hospital.  We are so incredibly lucky and have a large bank of people that we can call on to help us out but I will feel more comfortable once we have a plan in place.

I know that looks like a ton of crap to get done but several things will be taken care of this weekend (pictures, crib) and others can be done anytime before he’s born (Tylenol).  But it just feels good to get all of that junk out of my mind and into a list where I can cross things off.

2 thoughts on “Making a (baby) list and checking it twice

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update « Many Sleepless Nights

Leave a Reply

