34 Weeks

20121211-081243.jpg
This one ↑ isn’t a cute as this one ↓ but I can’t be a model all the time, right?
411299_870869508982_1959354335_o

How far along? 34 weeks
Total weight gain/loss: + 29 lbs
Maternity clothes? Yup.
Stretch marks? Yeabsolutely.
Sleep: Some days are better than others but lately it’s been pretty hard to get comfy.  I’m exhausted so I really want to sleep but I’m also starting to hurt more and more so it’s getting harder to fall asleep.  Make sense?
Best moment this week: Getting a few things crossed off the baby to-do list!  Getting maternity pictures taken this weekend.
Worst moment this week: Nothing we can’t handle.  Just lots of freak-outs about how close my due date is!
Movement: All the time. I love feeling all of his kicks and jabs and somersaults! And feet in my ribs. And punches to my bladder. And headbutts to my cervix. You get the idea.  Homeboy likes to dance almost as much as Adrianna does.
Food cravings/aversions: Ice chips.  And lots of them.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.  But Braxton Hicks are getting more and more frequent.
Belly Button in or out? In but getting more and more shallow.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That this baby is healthy.  That the nursery is almost finished.
What I am looking forward to: Getting the rest of our to-do list done.
Milestones: We have officially reached the point of no-return.  At any point starting today, if I go into labor on my own, my OB won’t do anything to stop me.  Meaning, if I show up at the hospital in labor, they will let me labor until he is born rather than putting me on Mag Sulfate to stop contractions.  I’m not quite to the “I’m so done being pregnant” stage but it’s comforting to know that she won’t place me on hospital bedrest if he decides to show up in a couple of weeks.
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, sore boobs, burgeoning belly, heartburn.  Oh the heartburn.  I already take 150 mg of Zantac every night (per my OB’s approval) plus I pop Tums like they are candy but I have so.much.heartburn. 
Technical baby news:You’re approaching the last weeks of pregnancy, and your baby’s size is a good indicator that the end is in sight. At around 17 inches long and 5 pounds, he has almost reached his birth weight and size, though his organs and features are still maturing. His immune system is ramping up to fight mild infection, his fingernails reach the tips of his fingers (though they’re softer than your own nails) and the external genitalia are more defined. A layer of fat is beginning to round out your baby’s face and limbs, and he’s losing the lanugo that has covered his body since the second trimester. While they’re still officially premature, babies born at 34 weeks have a fantastic rate of survival. Now considered a late-preterm birth, your baby would have a 99% chance of surviving, and an excellent chance of developing just as well as a full-term baby. However, your baby’s brain is still undergoing extraordinary growth, and it weighs only about 65% of what it should weigh at the 40 week mark. Most babies will not develop any serious learning or cognitive disabilities if born this early, but there is a chance that they’ll be more prone to behavior or learning problems in childhood. For these reasons, if you do suspect you’re experiencing the symptoms of preterm labor, call your doctor or midwife right away to see if there’s anything you can do to halt the progression.

20121120-160811.jpg

Leave a Reply

