36 Weeks


20121226-105703.jpg

 
How far along? 36 weeks, 1 day.  Yesterday was Christmas and I didn’t get out of my jammies all day.  Even to take a picture of my belly.
Total weight gain/loss: + 31 lbs.  Considering I weighed myself this morning (the day after Christmas) and I am only up a pound, I am calling that a big, fat (haha) win!!
Maternity clothes? Yup.  And my options are growing more and more limited every week.
Stretch marks? Yeabsolutely.
Sleep: Some days are better than others.  Last night I got the best night’s sleep I’ve had in months.  I went to bed around 9:30, woke up to pee at 4, fell right back to sleep and didn’t wake up until around 5:45.  I’m a little nervous though because I feel like it’s the universe laughing at me and giving me a reminder that this will be the last bit of good sleep I will get for about a year.
Best moment this week: Christmas was yesterday so I think that one takes the cake!  Even though I had to work on Christmas Eve, we still had such a great time as a family and the kids got to see both sets of grandparents yesterday to show off their loot.
Worst moment this week: Just getting ready for Christmas.  We had Greg’s parents over for brunch yesterday and since a snail could out-run me lately, it takes me forever to get things clean.  Luckily, Greg was already off for Christmas break so he did most of the cleaning.
Also?  When he dropped.  I don’t remember it hurting that bad with the other two kids but I kept telling Greg on Sunday that I thought the baby was trying to drop because I was hurting SO much.  Then I woke up Monday morning and could immediately tell a difference.

20121226-131831.jpg

35 weeks vs. 36 weeks
 
Movement: All the time but things are starting to slow down.  Dance parties are a thing of the past but he does lots and LOTS of stretching and rolling.  Which is still awesome to be able to feel.  He also gets the hiccups all the time which makes the kids laugh.
Food cravings/aversions: I crave ice chips nearly constantly.
Gender: BOY
Labor Signs: Nada.  But I might have the OB check me tomorrow to see what’s what.  It will probably be nothing but that’s fine with me if I’m not dilated at 36 weeks.  I would just like to know if I’m already at a 4, know what I mean?
Belly Button in or out? In but getting pretty shallow.
What I miss: Energy. And wine.
What I am thankful for: That I made it another week successfully through this pregnancy! That this baby is healthy.
What I am looking forward to: Getting more things checked off our baby to-do list.
Milestones: Next week, baby boy is full-term and he dropped this weekend.  Also, it’s much less exciting but still important (to me) but my Group B Strep test results should be in tomorrow.
Symptoms: shedding hair, exhaustion, sore boobs, heartburn, burgeoning belly.
Technical baby news: By now your baby weighs around 6 pounds and he’s over a foot and a half (or 18 inches) from the crown of his head to his heel. He’s lost most of his lanugo and he sports a thick coating of vernix caseosa to protect his skin from being damaged by the amniotic fluid. Space is tight, so he will turn now and then, but sporadic limb movements may come less frequently. You’re baby is almost at full term, so you can rest easy knowing that the odds are in his favor: if you were to deliver today, your little one would be able to survive with minimal medical intervention. The only organs that could use a couple more weeks are the lungs, which may still have some difficulty taking in air on their own. His motor skills are sharper, his digestive system is working and his brain is developing at an impressive pace. Your baby is almost ready for his life on the outside.

20121126-114140.jpg

2 thoughts on “36 Weeks

  1. Just so you realize this, Brock was three weeks early (which means that Georgie could possibly be here in a week!), I am starting to get impatient to meet our newest little guy.

Leave a Reply

